Breaking, Music, and Stuff

My Tae Kwon Do school has board breaking days a couple times a year.  The first one was right before the black belt testing in June.  The second one was yesterday.  After what had happened early that morning, I was in great need of a good way to vent some frustration.  It proved effective.  I was happier by the end of the evening, despite not being able to repeat my palm strike break with five boards.  I did that at the black belt testing, but was unable to last night.  I am not sure why.  Maybe next time.

My instructor is coming up with new ways to torture us in Kickboxing.  I seem to be faring better than both parents and some of the other students.  Our instructor had us doing various forms of push-ups and squats between our punching drills.  Fun stuff.

Today, I was pleasantly surprised when the auto glass repairman arrived right at noon, as promised.  I was not expected that after what happened when our new dishwasher was installed.  He went straight to work and was finished in under an hour.  Good timing, too.  It started raining a couple hours after he finished.

I took the opportunity of having my car back in order to wander over to a nearby store and get the new Linkin Park album.  Yes, I have the numerous complaints about the album.  I like to decide for myself.  I heard similar complaints about Minutes to Midnight and I really like that album.  A Thousand Suns is different.  There is no disputing that.  I figured it would be.  The band has been saying it would be.  Why doubt them? I did not really care for some of the short clips, but I liked the lyrics of the full length songs.  The music will take some getting used to, though I did not dislike it.  It is different, and I think I will enjoy it.

I will be watching my grandparents’ cats while they visit my aunt and uncle in Oregon over the weekend.  I had to assure my grandmother that I will be able to check in on and feed the cats while they are gone, though I will not have the time to spend nights down there.  I also had to explain that I knew one of their cats does indeed go outside, despite a bad paw.  The cat in question prefers to be let out if someone is home, but will use the window they leave open if he wants out while no one is there.  She did not seem to want to believe that.

I will be teaching part of a referee seminar this weekend.  Two other instructors will be assisting with it, so I am not nearly as nervous as I would be if I were doing it alone.

Also this weekend, my aunt and uncle will be hosting a party to show off their newly remodeled kitchen.  I am a bit anxious about this, because there are several family members attending that I have not seen in several years.  I have not even met one of my younger cousins, who will be attending.  I will be armed with my camera and take plenty of pictures.  Hopefully it goes well and all my anxiety will be for nothing.

More to come.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

