New Home Without the House Payment

That is how my aunt referred to the finished product of the remodeling she and my uncle did of their kitchen.  They took out the wall between the kitchen and the living room and it changed the look of their home.  It looked really nice.

She had a couple horror stories to go along with, though.  Apparently, the house was not built to code all those years ago.  With what she described, it is a miracle that house has not sustained serious damage during some of the wind stroms we have here.  Scary!

She and my uncle held a gathering today to show off the finished product.  I was a bit nervous about it, because I had not seen most of the family members since before I left for the Air Force.  Today was the first time I have met two of my cousins.  And some of the family members are not exactly on good terms with me and my immediate family.

One of those family members, my grandmother, decided she was too ill to attend the family gathering.  I wonder how upset she will be when she learns that everyone else met my youngest brother’s girlfriend.  The thought is slightly entertaining.

Yes, my brother brought along his girlfriend.  I am not entirely sure why.  She has been around my mom’s side of the family, though, so I suppose it was time for her to meet some of my dad’s side.  I will have to ask my brother what her thoughts were.  I will probably see my brother before I see her, otherwise I would ask her.

Another family member who has not been on good terms with my immediate family for several years is another of my uncles.  He showed up, but seemed to realize we did not want to talk to him much.  He greeted everyone, made small talk with my other brother, joined another relative in admiring my class ring, and then spent most of the time talking with other family members.  I was courteous to him.  My mother basically ignored him.  My dad did not really talk to him, either.  It will be interesting what is said through the grape vine from his point of view.

Another aunt and uncle brought my four younger cousins.  I have not seen the older two since they were small children, so I did not recognize them.  I knew who they had to be, but there was no resemblence between my memory and who they are today.  It was the first time I had seen the younger two.  One was born the year I graduated high school.  The youngest was born while I was in the Air Force.  It was an interesting experience.

All in all, the gathering went well.  Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves.  We all departed with the comments that we should do it again soon.  I hope we do.  I really do.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

