Imminent Ending

Today is the last day of my summer break.  Fall came upon Seattle as soon as the calender changed to September.  It is cooler and wet.  A friend of mine asked when the weather would be nice again and I joking replied, “May… maybe.”

I woke up early.  This is not unusual, really.  I wake up just about every morning to the sounds of my parents getting ready for work, especially Dad.  It can be annoying.  I could not get back to sleep, though.

I suppose it is for the best, though, because I woke up around the time I will probably have to start getting up for this quarter, between 0730 and 0800.  My first class of the day will be at 0930.  Of course, I will have to keep careful track of the days this quarter, because two of my classes do not meet every day.  It will be interesting.

I wandered down to the college yesterday to get my new parking permit and textbooks.  The parking permit is pink this quarter.  Ugh.  The textbooks cost about $300 this quarter.  Gr.  But I have them.  There were a couple math classes that did not have the textbooks in.  I felt bad for those students.  Apparently enough of them were coming in that I got asked if I was looking for that textbook when they saw me wandering down that aisle.

I was quite happy that it was not too busy yesterday.  That was my main concern.  It was busy enough for the people working there, though.  One woman behind the counter where I got my parking permit looked especially frazzled, though she admitted it was not as busy as it will be Wednesday when the quarter actually starts.  I can only imagine.

I hope my brother’s textbooks come today.  He ordered his textbooks online last week when he realized he could save at least $60.  He had them sent to our parents’ house, but they have arrived yet.  He is a bit frustrated, because his quarter started yesterday.

This quarter’s line up is:
– Introduction to Criminal Justice
– Precalculus I
– Introduction to Multicultural Studies

The only one I am really at that concerned about at this point is the Multicultural Studies class.  This is because we are required to attend extra activities outside the class and write responses to it.  This could be meetings of different school groups, movies, plays, etc.  We do need instructor approval prior to doing at least some of those activities, though.  I am hoping the instructor will be a bit more specific about that part in class tomorrow.

Until then…

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

