End of the Week

I guess I had been spoiled the last two quarters after what I saw Wednesday.  I left around what was a decent time for Spring and Summer Quarters.  I was making pretty good time, too.  Until I got near the campus, though.  There is a traffic light followed by a four-way stop that leads to the college.  I think it needs to be updated, because it does not fit the needs of the college.  The police had to come out and direct traffic through the stop sign.

If getting to the college was bad enough, parking was worse.  I could not believe it.  I ended up parking in the east parking lot, and then hiking up around 50 steps through thick woods to get to the campus.  At least they did not change the classroom on me.

It is also a good thing the class was two hours long.  I was half an hour late, and I may not have bothered going if it had been one of the other two, because they are only an hour or so long.  Also, I am glad it was the first day.  Not much was discussed or covered.  Thankfully.

So far, the classes seem interesting to me.  That is always a plus.  The instructor in one hinted at having pop quizzes.  Goody.  I do not do as well on those, as evidenced by my slightly lower grade in Communications last quarter.

I am taking notes in two of my classes for another classmate.  I may never know who they are, though if they pay attention, they will likely figure out who I am.  I use a pretty small notebook.  Oh well.  I am not surprised about the note taking in my Precalculus class.  Some people just cannot figure math out.

Thursday and yesterday went fairly smoothly.  No knuckelehead classmates to discuss, yet.  I almost hoped some idiot got his back bumper removed for the parking job they did Thursday.  Cars had to squeak by to avoid hitting his car, because it stuck out so far.  I am not sure if trucks were able to get past that car.  It would have been interesting to watch if I had not been interested in getting up those stairs and out of the pouring rain.

Today was our monthly color belt graduation, though with a twist.  We had a former student come from across the state to test for his next rank, because no one was certified to promote him where he trains.  I saw him yesterday in sparring.  For some reason, he did not have a mouthguard, so we were not allowed to kick him in the head.  Not a problem for most of us, considering he was taller than most.  My brother was annoyed that he was kicking to the head, though, considering we were not allowed to do the same.  The guy had his required gear today, though.

He sparred all four black belt instructors.  I watched parts of my brother’s sparring match with him, and the match that followed.  He apparently thought the first guy would go easy on him.  Heh.  Not that guy.  I used to wonder if he knew how to go easy during sparring until I had to spar him in June for my promotion to 3rd.  The guy enjoyed the matches.  He does not get the chance to spar people his rank very often, because most people where he trains are lower belts at the moment.  He was quite happy about the experience, despite getting cut and bruised.

The head instructor decided to promote one of the black belt instructors.  The instructor in question has been eligible to test for his next rank for years, but has been unable to for various reasons.  The head instructor decided to help him out and promoted him today.  It caught the guy completely off guard.  There was a mixed reaction from some of the other black belts, but I think the guy deserved the promotion.  He is a very good instructor, and has worked hard to get to that point.  As for the head master’s decision, it is his school and his decision.  Not much I can say there, so I will not dwell on that.

It was a good graduation.  The kids seemed better behaved, too, which made things better.  A good end to an interesting week.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

