Despite Frequent Rain

The weather here has been weird the past few days.  It goes from pouring down rain, to bright and sunny, back to pouring down rain.  Today, it was alternating between sun and misting with high humidity.  Ugh.  I am just glad it did not get too warm.  It would have reminded me of Texas and Oklahoma.  I cannot complain too much, though.  It hit over 110 in parts of California today.  Wow.

Anyway, back to my original complaint.  People cannot drive in the rain here, which is somewhat amusing considering how often it does rain.  The only reason I think of it as amusing at the moment is because I am not currently stuck in the mess of traffic that is created when it rains.

This morning, on my way to school, I had to maneuver around a car accident.  For some reason, one guy was not paying attention to the person in front of him and rear ended their vehicle.  They decided it was too much trouble to move out of the way, too, because they were nearly blocking the intersection the accident occurred at, which made it very difficult for people to get around.  I cannot imagine that a couple bent fenders would prevent the drivers from moving out of the flow of traffic.  The drivers really should have done that, if for no other reason than their own safety.  I do not trust other drivers, so why would they?

Traffic was fairly smooth this morning, but I left early enough to avoid the traffic mess around the campus.  Parking was found quickly, but I went straight to the east parking lot instead of driving around the campus in hopes of finding a different parking spot closer to my classes.  I am sure this is a good thing, because I saw some idiot holding up traffic for nearly five minutes while they waited for another student to get in their car and back out of a parking spot.  I was safely parked and was walking to class by that point, so I shook my head and kept moving.

My classes today were covering mostly review stuff.  I imagine the Criminal Justice stuff is not review for some of my classmates, but they have not worked in the career field.  I sensed trouble when someone asked what probable cause was during the instructor’s lecture.  I can only imagine the questions to be had later on.

I did have to go to the campus library today and check out an article.  That does not happen often.  I spent about half an hour reading it before turning it back in.  I did not intend to make a copy of the article.  Two reasons.  One, there is a particular system used when making copies, and I do not know how to use it, nor was I interested in learning this afternoon.  Two, I had no spare change on me, and it would have cost money to copy the article.  Reading was sufficient.

Tae Kwon Do tonight was enjoyable.  As Mom noted later, we did not have some of the problem students in class tonight.  I imagine I will see them tomorrow.

I am done with tonight’s homework and even had time to do some stitching on my latest cross-stitch project.  I am trying to do at least 100 stitches a day with this project.  Otherwise, I have no idea when I will finish it.  At this rate, I may have it done before Christmas.  We shall see.  The kit was a gift from my younger brother, Martin, so I decided I would show him how much I enjoyed the gift by stitching it.  I have not done much yet.  Only about 500 stitches.  Progress is progress, though.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Despite Frequent Rain

  1. My experience is that people drive faster in the rain – as though they are rushing to get home before they get wet. Except they are in a car and don’t have to worry about getting wet. Yet they drive twice as fast as usual.

Leave a Reply

