Gathering and Movie

That was how Saturday evening went.  This was after a grueling workout in Kickboxing, of course.  The instructor had us sparring the punching bag for increasing increments.  We were partnered up, so we could get some rest in between the rounds.  It started with 15 seconds and went up another 15 seconds each round after that until we were working the bags for a solid two minutes.  Then he had us do push-ups.  Started with one and increased by one each time until we got up to 20.  My arms did not want to do anything for the rest of the day.

After getting cleaned up and resting, I joined my parents and one brother in heading down to my grandparents’ house.  My youngest brother and his girlfriend joined us after she got off work.

As usual, my grandmother made the evening somewhere between interesting and frustrating.  She asked what degree Nathan was pursuing at least twice.  She asked his girlfriend if they had met (yes, several times).  She would ask questions that could not be answered adequately.  For example, Dad commented on veggie burgers at one point.  I do not remember how that topic came up, but Grandma wanted to know what was in them and persisted when Dad said he could not remember, because it had been several years since he had served them.  She also was not following the conversations very well and we constantly backtracked to keep her involved.

Despite that, though, it was a good evening.  The food was delicious.  Steak, potatoes au gratin, green beans, and salad.  For dessert, we had ice cream and zucchini bread.

Nathan and his girlfriend were going to see “Resident Evil: Afterlife” and invited me along.  I have not seen the third movie, but any movie with zombies cannot be too bad, right? That being said, it was an okay movie.  I am not sure it was worth paying to see it in 3D, though.  I am slightly curious to see how the next movie goes, though I might resist seeing it in theaters.

All in all, a good day.  Pain and frustration just make sure we appeciate the better parts of life.  That is how I choose to look at it.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

