Grooming Attempt

This will likely be amusing when I look back on it.

My parents have to Shih Tzu puppies, Boris and Natasha.  They are long haired dogs.  That is fine for the show dogs.  However, it is a bit of a challenge for regular pet dogs.  They require frequent brushing.

Mom looked into the possibility of taking them to a professional groomer to have their hair trimmed.  It would cost about $50 a dog.  My parents are not willing to pay that much.  So, Dad pulled out the clippers that he used to cut my brothers’ hair when they were young, and we attempted to cut the dogs’ hair.

Problem.  Evidently we have not been brushing them well enough, because the dogs had numerous mats.  Not large ones, thankfully, but enough to make it very challenging with those clippers.  We eventually moved to scissors and did what we could.  It will likely be a multi-weekend project.  I seem to be more willing to brush the dogs than either of my parents, which is a bit annoying at times, so I will have to pick that up a bit more often.  It will give me an excuse to give the dogs treats, right?

Despite the problems today, both dogs look better and seem to be more comfortable, especially Boris.  His hair is really fluffy, so it is probably better for it to be shorter, otherwise no amount of brushing will make him look properly groomed.  Hee…

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

