Scary Friday

Last Friday, I got a phone call from my mother.  She was calling from the emergency room of a local hospital.  She nearly collapsed at work a few hours before and was rushed to the nearest hospital with severe pain in her left lung.  After five hours of being on painkillers and oxygen, the staff diagnosed her pain as being caused by pleurisy, or an inflammation in the lining of her lung.  They prescribed an anti-inflammatory and rest and sent her home.  I picked her up and drove her home.  I told her we would figure out what to do about her car, which was still at her workplace, later.

While grateful that it was nothing serious, I was less than happy that I found out about the incident toward the end of it.  Mom had been in the hospital for hours by the time I found out.  Granted, I doubted she was worried about notifying everyone, but I think my dad should have given me a heads up.  And my youngest brother, at least, too.  I called my brother and reported the news to him.  Neither of us has a good way to get a hold of the other brother, so I do not think he is aware of the event.

My brother came over for several hours to ensure Mom was doing okay.  I missed my sparring class because I did not feel comfortable leaving her home alone.

She is doing better, thankfully.  She cannot do a whole lot without becoming fatigued very quickly.  The pain is manageable, which I am glad for.  She will be scheduling a meeting with her doctor in the morning, and we will see what happens from there.

The rest of the weekend has been fairly quiet.

Mom had to tell my grandmother about her trip to the hospital twice.  She called her parents Friday evening and told them about what happened.  Then today, when my grandfather asked if she would need help tomorrow, she had to tell my grandmother again.  I wish my grandmother would go to the doctor about her memory.  It is getting noticeably worse by the month.

I helped instruct a referee seminar at my Tae Kwon Do school yesterday.  It went fairly smoothly.  The only difficulty was keeping a couple of the younger students focused.  They were excitable and easily distracted, though that is not really new.  I think they were more focused than the last class I helped with, so that is good.

Today, I went (with my brother) to the track to observe the progress of another student in his effort in the three mile run.  He can walk three miles with no problem.  Getting him to actually run any part of it is a challenge, and honestly, I am not interested in dragging him around the track 12 times.  If it takes that much effort to get him to do it, he is obviously not motivated enough to get his black belt.  I can cheer him on and tell him what he needs to work on.  The rest must come from him.  If it does not, his black belt is not worth as much as it should be.

I wandered to a nearby JoAnn’s Fabrics after the meeting at the track.  I wanted to see what selection they might have of Christmas ornament counted cross-stitch kits.  I happily found a few, though I do hope they get more out on the floor.  I picked out several and went to wait in the long line for the cash registers.  The line was due to a very slow system.  The cashiers were doing their best, and I hope the other customers realized that it was not their fault.  As I waited, the woman in line behind me suddenly handed me a coupon for 20 percent off my purchase.  I was stunned.  It is not often a complete stranger will do something like that.  I made it up to one cashier.  She had to scan my items twice, because the system logged her off just after she finished scanning them the first time.  I understood her frustration.

I spent the afternoon doing needlework and keeping Mom company.  I believe she is frustrated that she cannot move around as much as she would like without wearing herself out.  It was a quiet evening, though, and I enjoyed it.

I hope this week is less dramatic.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Scary Friday

  1. Michael G. says:

    Certainly a scary phone call to get. I wish your mother a speedy recovery.

  2. Hope that your Mum is feeling much better now

Leave a Reply

