Round One

The first part of the black belt testing proved as interesting as it usually is.  We had several students nearly fail the written.  I was a bit surprised by a couple of those.  One really does not have an excuse, especially since he is an assistant instructor like me.  It makes him look bad.  One actually did fail the written.  The head instructor gave him two more tries to fix his answers.  No luck on his part.

Next was the fitness portion.  A few had issues here.  One did not pass.  I was not surprised by him.  My youngest brother and I have been trying to help him with his run for months, but he has not shown any real motivation.  It is simple.  Three mile run with no walking.  Goal time is 30 minutes, but as long as one does not walk, they will pass.  I am not sure if this kid would have made it through one lap.  He did not make it that far, though.  He did leg lifts and ski jumps.  After not passing those portions, he walked out of the room everyone was doing the calisthenics in and left before anyone could stop him.  It was several minutes before the instructors realized he had actually left without talking to the head instructor.  I do not think it would have made a difference, but they would have preferred if he had talked to the head instructor before leaving.

After everyone else finished the leg lifts, ski jumps, squat thrusts, sit-ups and push-ups, we all went to the track.  It was dark.  The high school we went to also had some type of sporting event going on, so there was a lot of traffic in the parking lot.  Made finding a spot to park and getting over to the track interesting.  I felt bad for those who ran tonight, and it made me not really look forward to doing it in a year.  It was about 35 degrees (Fahrenheit) out.  No rain and not much wind, though.  We were lucky in that.  I know it poured last year.

I stood at one corner of the track with a huge flashlight and shouted encouragment to the candidates who ran by.  My job was simple.  Make sure they kept running.  It was not easy for some, but those who made it out there did finish the run.

Tomorrow, those of us black belts who are not testing will be coaching the color belts and encouraging those who are going for various degrees of black.  I will be coaching the blue belts, as usual, from the looks of it.  I have no idea how many, though.  I will not know that until tomorrow.  It will be an interesting testing, though.  I heard a rumor that we do not have that many small boards for the younger students.  That will make things a bit difficult.  I am hoping something will be worked out, or that the rumor was false.  We shall see.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

