Midterms and Busyness

I have a midterm in History next week. We were discussing today how much of history is invented in order to make some sense as to how or why things happen. It was an interesting discussion, brought on by watching ‘The Return of Martin Guerre’.

I have a lab in Geology later on and I hope to get my Spanish test back today. I was hoping to have it back before today. Oh well. It means the instructor was busy with something else.

Last weekend, my uncle was also at the family dinner at my grandparents’ house. Unknown to us until days later, he got Grandpa alone and discussed my grandmother’s obvious deterioration and the possibility of moving into a retirement community soon, for safety reasons if nothing else. My grandfather was not sure how much an impact such a move would have on my grandmother, but I suspect it will not matter much longer. If her memory is deteriorating as rapidly as it did in that five week period… well, it is a scary thought.

My aunt will talk to them Friday. Mom and I may be meeting up with her to allow her to vent.

TKD also looks like it will be fairly busy, especially next month. Mom and I will be helping to instruct a referee seminar in the school, and then there will be an in-school tournament the following weekend.

My other grandmother (Dad’s Mom) will be turning 75 next month, too, and from the sounds of it, there is going to be a fairly good sized bash. Assuming my grandmother shows up, of course. She has a habit of playing sick at the last minute. I have already said we will have a good time without her if she pulls that stunt again. She did it when there was a family gathering back in September. I was not amused. I figured she would want to see her children and grandchildren, some of whom she has not seen in years (myself included). But, I do not particularly want to get into that much of the family drama today. I have other things occupying my mind. I will worry about her stunts later.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

