Group Presentations

It is always interesting how these go.  I have done three in the past two days, two of them in my Geology class.

Yesterday was the big presentation on our service learning project.  I was not expecting our group to go first, but the rest of the group decided they did not want to wait.  We did fairly well, I think.  I will know for sure when I see the grade.  I am mostly glad that we no longer have to worry about it.  Other groups did not want to present.  It was to the point that the instructor was standing in front of class wondering why the groups were not responding, which was annoying.  The presentation itself was not the biggest part of the grade for the project, but points are points.  I did feel bad for two guys, though.  The third person in their group had the slide presentation, and he did not show up, so they had to wing it off of just the photos they had taken.

Today, there were two presentations.  The first was in Spanish.  I was not sure how this one would go, because my partner and I have been extremely busy with other classes this week.  We met up after my History class and went through our planned script.  We amused each other greatly with the mispronunciations.  I realized we needed to add some stuff in order to make our designated time limit.  Good thing to know before the presentation.  It went fairly well.  Our instructor is nice about grading, and she was the only other person in the room at the time.  I skipped a section and had to go back, which slightly threw my partner off, but she recovered nicely.  All in all, we did well.

My second presentation of the day was again in Geology.  We were sketching and presenting a plate boundary.  The instructor assigned my group ‘continental-continental divergent’.  We had to sketch, describe the volcanic activity, what kind of rocks we might find there, potential hazard from the volcanic activity, the magnitude of earthquakes, and a couple other things.  It was interesting.  I think our boundary was easier than other groups’, but not as interesting.  All in all, we did well.

After all the presentations were done, we did the third  test.  I am officially taking the day off tomorrow.  I do not have to go in because my Spanish instructor will still be overseeing group presentations.  No complaints.  My brain is fried.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

