Recent Events

My cousin was quite excited a couple weeks ago. She had learned that she had been approved by her school to take a trip to Japan and China. In light of the recent devastation on Japan, though, I wonder if that trip will happen. If any part does, I imagine only the portion to China.

I am praying for those affected by the earthquake and resulting tsunami. I do not know anyone directly affected, but I cringe every time I see more of the news. It is horrible.

Life goes on, though. It must.

My family threw a big party for my grandmother’s 75th birthday. I took a lot of photos. The problem is, I do not see these family members often enough to know them. Despite this, I had a good time. My mother was not thrilled about going. She does care for her mother-in-law, and for good reason. Still, she went and seemed to enjoy herself for the most part. She was rather pessimistic about how others may have perceived her, but that is nothing new.

I would have thought that being the center of attention would inspire my grandmother to wear her hearing aid. Nope. I wonder how much of the conversation she actually heard. This has been an ongoing issue with her. Luckily, there were plenty of people to talk to. I had a good time, and I hope to see some of these relatives again soon.

Yesterday, Mom and I went out to lunch with a couple of her friends to celebrate her recent birthday. Getting there was an adventure due to rain and the resulting idiocy of other drivers. Once there, we had a good time. Good food and good company.

Today is the last day of class of Winter Quarter before Finals. I need to figure out when all the Finals are. I have at least one due on Wednesday and two to take on Friday. Busy, busy. The week off before Spring Quarter cannot come fast enough.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

