Cat Under the Bed

I want to smack one of my cats.  I would have to if I had managed to catch him before he fled under the bed.  Now he is sitting down there until he figures it is safe for him to come out.  Why? Because I just got him using a pile of clothes and one of my backpacks as his personal litter box.  I have been having issues with him doing that over the past few months, and I can not figure out why he started doing it.  I have never had issues with him doing stuff like this.  I suppose I should view it as a good thing that he did not do it all over my parents’ bed again.  He has a bad habit of doing that, too.

Spring Quarter has started.  I am taking 20 credits and have started to wonder how I will manage.  These classes are a bit more intense than last quarter.  Of course, most of this spurs off of last week.  I have had a horrid cold the past several days that has kept me out of Tae Kwon Do and Kickboxing.  I have managed to go to class, but wondered more than once last week if it was a good idea.  And the symptoms of this cold left me wary to attend an intense martial arts class.  Fever, nausea, and a horrid cough.

Several friends and classmates had previously come down with some mutant crud that left them ill for weeks.  Of course, I think a couple of them were doing way too much way too soon after getting ill, so they did not fully recover and then caught the crud again.  Right now, I am waiting for at least one of them to come down with the crud yet again, because I think she is going too fast after being sick for so long.  We will see.  For now, I will take my own advice and ease back into things starting Monday.  The cough has finally subsided to where I can actually do things without coughing up a lung.  The other symptoms, especially the nausea, have finally gone, too.

I was house-sitting for friends last week.  They have two dogs that needed to be kept company while the family went on vacation.  Normally I do not really mind this, but I was not feeling well last week and the dogs found ways to drive me nuts.  The male kept racing around the house, especially up and down the stairs every time I got up.  He was hoping to go on a walk, but either it was pouring down rain, or I was coughing too much.  The female got out of the yard once and raced to who-knows-where and back.  I was not amused.  She and the other dog had been playing out in the yard for several minutes.  I stopped what I was doing and listened not long after that and realized it was too quiet.  I walked out to see what they were doing and found the male standing in the middle of the yard by himself looking very confused.  About the time I sent messages to her owner that she had gotten out and I was having issues finding her, she came racing back.  This prompted me to restrict her outdoor privileges.  The female also decided it would be a good idea to get into the cats’ food dish and scarf down their breakfast.  I had just filled it, put it on the bookshelf out of reach of the dog (or so I thought), and had gone back upstairs when I heard it hit the floor.  She was the only animal down there, so it was not hard to figure out what had happened.  So, she could not go downstairs without supervision after that, either.  I think they come up with new things to test their boundaries when their owners are not home.  Reminds me of small misbehaving children.

Last Wednesday, the weather was really interesting.  We had sun, clouds, wind, rain, hail, and snow.  Yes, snow.  It even stuck a little, though the little that did stick was little more than slush.  Everyone I knew who saw the snow coming down felt the need to comment about it on Facebook.  Keep in mind, the Seattle area does not see snow as often as other regions.  We feel the need to talk about it whenever it does come down, especially if it is supposed to be Spring outside.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

