Veteran’s Day

Today is my day.  That is how a friend commented on it yesterday.  My brother and I are both veterans.  We both put our lives on hold while we served our country.  I put my life on hold for seven years, my brother put his on hold for four years.  We both went through a fair amount of stress during our separate careers.  Now, we are both out and using the military benefits to go back to school.

Earlier this week, a  friend posted a picture of a soldier holding up a piece of paper with his thoughts of the Occupy Movement.  My friend simply commented that she hoped he lived to see the benefits he talked about.  I did not have any trouble with that.  The thing that irritated me was a comment made by another person, who suggested that service members are freeloaders.  I had not seen the comment until Mom mentioned it and said she would respond.  I read her response before she posted it.  It fired away at the woman and her opinion, in a civil manner, of course.  Yes, the woman was entitled to the opinion, but putting it out on Facebook for all to see was probably not the brightest idea she had this week.  No one has responded since, including the woman Mom’s comment was directed at.  I think they got the hint, and I am happy anyone who agreed with that woman chose not to say anything in support.  I might have gotten on there, and I cannot guarantee I would have been as civil.

That being said, I would like to give thanks to all my fellow service members, past and present, who have served our country and the people who live here and enjoy the immense freedoms that we have guaranteed.  God bless!


About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

