Thanksgiving Weekend

I admit, I was not sure how this weekend would go.  More specifically, I really was not sure how things would go Thursday evening when my grandparents  came over.

First, my grandmother is below 100 pounds.  She is shorter than me, yes, but not enough to make being less than 100 pounds look good on her frame.  According to a conversation between her and Grandpa, she is about 94 pounds.  She looks skeletal.  One of my aunts firmly believes this may be her last year due to the constant weight loss.  She refused to eat a full plate of anything.  I think she ate maybe two-thirds of what she put on her plate at dinner, and it was not a lot.  Same with dessert.

Second, my grandmother circles the conversations.  And she will fixate on things and it is difficult to get her to let them go.  One, of course, was the story of how she got measles when she was young.  I think it was when she was nine, but the story changed three times throughout the evening.  This has been a recent development, where the age of her getting the measles has changed.  That night, it was 13, 12, and then nine.  Next circle was about her brother, who died in 2002.  Then she circled around Dad’s father’s death.  He died in 1999.  Her purse and my needlework were occasionally brought up.  Then, for some odd reason, she kept wanting to know who drove up with her and Grandpa.  They came by themselves.  This was the weirdest part, because I am not sure what triggered it.

It was a mostly pleasant evening.  One brother was not amused when the conversation centered around death.  He believed that there are better things to talk about on Thanksgiving.  I agree.  We had a huge turkey this year.  I think it will last until Christmas.  Our sides were green bean casserole, Dad’s macaroni and cheese, stuffing, salad, and rolls.  My grandparents brought the salad.  For dessert, there was a variety of pies:  pecan, pumpkin, lemon meringue, and chocolate meringue.  Both grandparents had pecan.  One brother had pumpkin.  The youngest brother and I had chocolate.  Dad had a slice each of pecan and pumpkin.  Mom also had pecan.  The pies were delicious.  Mom had hoped that the pecan would set up properly, and it did.  The last few times my grandmother has made pecan pie, it has not set up, so Mom made the pies this time.  We suspect at least one ingredient was left out, though we are still speculating at what it might have been that would prevent the pie from setting up properly.

Next, Mom brought up the fact that my aunt and two cousins were in town visiting relatives and would like to see everyone.  Mom arranged to host them at our house for a few hours on Friday afternoon and was letting everyone know.  I was happy, because I had not seen one of my cousins since another cousin’s wedding in 2003.  She has grown a bit since then.  My grandmother got a bit agitated over the news about the visit.  My aunt and uncle divorced several years ago, and my grandparents sided with their son for the most part.  However, my aunt has tried to keep a decent relationship with them, because they are the grandparents of her three daughters.  Mom took Grandma to task about her attitude.  Things eventually settled down, but it was tense for a few minutes, with both Mom and I offering rebuttals for my grandmother’s assumptions.

Friday afternoon was a pleasant visit.  My grandparents, my visiting aunt and two of her daughters, another cousin and her two sons, and another aunt came over for a short visit.  I have not seen my cousin’s sons for a couple years, so it was great to see them.  Pictures only show so much.  The boys and my youngest cousin were quite shy and did not venture far from their mothers, but I expected that.

Again, my grandmother tried to fixate on the death of her brother.  My brother and I tried to derail that conversation, only somewhat successfully, by talking about Tae Kwon Do.  He mentioned several students he had been reminded of by the conversation topics.  I started asking about a very thin set of escrima sticks that I had seen at the dojang earlier that day.  We were joking about the fact that if either of us tried to use those thin sticks, we would likely snap them in half before even being able to practice with a partner.  I assumed they were for small children, but I do not know that for certain.  Finally, my grandmother got distracted enough that she forgot whatever had reminded her about her brother.  The rest of the afternoon went smoothly, though all noted the circles of conversation.  I was simply happy to see my cousins.

Today was a day to unwind from it all.  And I cannot believe tomorrow is already going to be the end of the weekend.  Oh well.  Time flies.  I did need this break, though.  I had two major papers due just days apart, and that was in addition to a lot of reading in all three classes.  So, I have taken a deep breath and am ready to get back into it.

I have registered for Winter Quarter.  I will be taking two Philosophy classes and one sociology class.  The first two are for my intended major.  The third is for my intended minor.  I hope to be accepted into both during the course of that quarter.  We shall see.  At least the schedule will be a later one.  I am starting to dislike getting up so early just to ensure I get to my 0830 class on time, regardless of mode of transportation.

My relationship is in a current cooling period.  We have taken a step back while he works on some things before deciding if we should continue.  This was not my choice, but I understand why he feels he needs to do this.  I can only hope it does not last long.

 

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

