Spiritual

Today is turning out to be a more spiritual day than most. More people seem to be thinking about it today for some reason, or are at least taking the time to make note of it.

First example, a friend made a comment on Facebook that he had a conversation with his 5th grade son about “If there is a God, then why do bad things happen?” This is apparently a question the boy brought up in Bible class and the teacher felt the need to tell the father. I honestly do not think I had these thoughts when I was 10 or 11. Of course, I probably had the distractions of putting up with my brother or endearing the bullying at school. Regardless, it was interesting to see how the father discussed it with his son.

Second example, a former colleague from the Air Force was lamenting that some people had no business being anywhere near the medical career field. If he was referring to the Med Group down at Tinker AFB, I can only imagine what prompted such a comment. I do not think I met anyone down there who did not have a story about an encounter at the Med Group. A friend of this colleague suggested the problem with some in that career field is that they go in without any spiritual foundation, which they argued was necessary to succeed in that field. I agree on that standpoint of dealing with the stress, illness, and injury encountered day in and day out, but I believe my colleague was referring to the blatant incompetence of some in the Med Group.

Third example, I encountered a couple Mormons as I crossed Red Square at the UW this morning. I have nothing against Mormons, though I wonder if they thought otherwise. I was running late to a meeting with a friend and explained such. They were disappointed that I would not stay to talk, but I was not lying. That friend was pulling out her phone to call me when I got there. On another day perhaps, Elder.

I had a research paper due the week before Thanksgiving. I got the paper back today. Considering the holiday in the midst of all that, I was not expecting to see that paper until at least Friday, and I considered that wishful thinking. 4.0! I had comments on areas where I expected there to be comments, but I really could not see a way to fix those areas without rewriting a good portion of the paper, which after finishing 10+ pages was not something I had any intention of doing. I am pleased with the grade.

More and more people are putting up their Christmas decorations. Mom was complaining last night that it was not yet December. I pointed out that at least most had waited until after Thanksgiving. I have not seen anyone really going crazy with the lights yet. I am sure it will happen, though.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

