Philosophy Finals

I decided early in the quarter that I did not particularly care for Philosophy.  Problem is, I had already entered into two classes on Philosophy.  One is on Human Rights, the other is on Crime and Punishment.  I think the main reason that I do not care for Philosophy is that there no easy way to decide which side is right in a philosophical argument.  The arguments could go on forever.  In fact, two of my classmates have been in an obnoxious, fun-poking philosophical debate for the past two quarters.  I realize this last week when I sat down next to them and tried to figure out what they were discussing back and forth.

However, the quarter is almost finished and the finals in both classes are Monday.  Two hours each.  The only good thing is that there is a  two hour break between them.  Otherwise, I would be in big trouble.  Switching gears between both classes is not fun, especially when both have a tendency to discuss similar authors or topics.

Anyway, this quarter will not be my best performance due to my struggle in these two areas of study for me.  I am hoping to still get decent grades in all three.

Today was Mom’s 55th birthday.  She and I went out to lunch with a couple of her friends.  We had a good time, and I was quite reluctant to go home and start hitting the books, but these final reviews are scaring the hell out of me.  Mom spent some more time with them before coming home and enjoying a quiet evening.  My brothers will be coming over tomorrow evening for the actual festivities, though they will be a tad delayed since I will be in a study session at the University.

Nathan is still trying to figure out whether the girl he has been hanging around is really worth trying to continue a relationship with.  If he were to listen to some of the people at the Tae Kwon Do school, he drop her without much thought.  The girl did not really impress some of the instructors and students there.  I cannot really blame them for sharing that opinion, though.  However, it is up to him.

I really do not have anywhere to stand on that, since I am trying to sort out how things are going with me.  The relationship I was in is pretty much over.  Or so he says.  I cannot figure out what is going on in his head.  I am not sure I want to.  So, I am taking a step back and focusing on other things until the mess in my head starts to work itself into some decent order.  That could take a while.  One part of me hopes he realizes that he made an error.  Another part dreads what else he might say.  And somewhere, there is a third part that is screaming for everything to stop long enough for all this to be processed.  Unfortunately, life does not work that way.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

