Spring!

Spring is finally making its way into the Seattle area. This means the temperatures are rising. Not much and not for long, unfortunately, but I can finally feel it.

Spring Quarter started yesterday. I have had all three lecture sections thus far. I have not met my Sociology professor, though, due to him being ill.

My Sociology is an introduction to Criminology, so we were asked by the TA leading class to write down our own definition. Then he requested that we fold our answer into a paper airplane and toss it to the front. I think that’s the first time I’ve tossed a paper plane in class without having to worry about getting in trouble. It was amusing, because at least half the class wondered at first if he was serious.

I have a Psychology class that will cover racism and minority groups. First thing we discussed was the Trayvon Martin case out of Florida. Hearing the different perspectives was interesting, but I did not voice my own. I doubt they would have been well received.

This past weekend, my mother and I visited her parents. I wanted to see my grandfather, so I tagged along. My grandmother could not remember who or what we were talking about for more than a couple minutes. Nothing new there, except I worry that she truly did not who we were talking about and was simply telling us she did. These were people she should know. My dad’s mother. The spouses of her children. Her grandchildren or great-nephews.

I took down my cross-stitch project. She kept asking what it was and what I was going to do with it when I finished. And this was when she was not interrupting the conversation or wondering where the cats might be. She even said that something horrible must have happened to the cats when she could not find them. We promptly told her they were simply evading her search efforts. One proved our point by wandering across the living room a few minutes later. I had a bit of a headache when we got home. But family is family.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

