Oops…

So, my procrastination caught up to me today.  I have been putting off renewing my tags for one reason or another.  I am not sure why.  There are other things I have to do.  School, mostly.  My car needs to go in for an emissions test before I can renew the tags.  I am not worried about that.  Anyway, the tags are expired.  I got pulled over on my way to the house I am watching for some friends.  I was within a few blocks of their house, too, which I found amusing afterwards.

I saw the patrol car sitting near a stop sign as I drove.  He appeared to be making sure people were actually stopping.  I thought nothing about it as I drove by, stopped, and went about my way.  The truck behind me did the same.  There was no other vehicle behind the truck as we went down a large hill.  Then, suddenly, I noticed a car coming up on the truck rather quickly.  After seven years as a military police officer, I recognize how cops drive, even when I cannot see enough of the vehicle to confirm it is a patrol car.

I went stopped at another stop sign and continued on.   The truck turned, so I knew then that the officer was trying to catch up to me.  When he turned on his lights I realized there was no decent place to pull over.  Thus, I had to drive another block and such before finding a side street that did not have ditches on either side of the road.  The officer said nothing about not pulling over quickly, though he did question why I opened the door instead of roll down the window.  The crank broke off years ago.  I was honest about the expired tags and was  given a correction notice.  I have a week to fix the tags.  I only hope I do not attract another patrol unit in the meantime.  I will do it either tomorrow or Friday.  Friday is more likely, since I do not have to worry about rush hour traffic on the way back from class.

This is only the second time I have been pulled over.  It was an odd experience being on the other side of a traffic stop.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

