Nicer Spring

Mom, a friend of ours, and I went tip-toeing through the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival yesterday. Our cool spring has kept some of the tulips from blooming thus far, but there were still plenty to admire. Also, the daffodils were still in bloom. We kept spotting the random tulip in the daffodil fields, too, which amused us.

After admiring all the flowers, we drove into nearby La Conner for lunch. We were concerned that the town might not be open due to the fact it was Sunday. But, we were relieved to see many people wandering the streets, looking in windows, walking out of shops, or waiting outside restaurants. Our friend recommended one of the pubs, so we wandered over there, after managing to finally find parking. We had to wait a little while for food, but the wait was worth it. After lunch, we meandered into a local needlework shop. I bought a cross-stitch chart of a cougar kitten, from the same artist who did the cougar I am currently working on. I also bought a couple smaller kits that I will use to take a break after I finish my current project.

This weekend was the nicest I have seen all spring, so it was a little disappointing to see the clouds move in. On the other hand, it was better than going to class on a bright, sunny day.

I will be watching my grandparents’ cats this weekend. My grandmother has already called once asking for me to call back so we can discuss what I will be doing this weekend. I have already told her and Grandpa, but she did not remember that. Of course, she likely did not remember calling. Mom called later in the evening and nothing was mentioned of the previous call. I hope to get through this week without another call, but we shall see.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

