Job Offer

For Mom, anyway. She has been going through the interview process with a credit union in Seattle for about a month now, and she found out the other day that she would be receiving a job offer shortly. She is ecstatic, to say the least. I am relieved.

Mom has been working in a temporary position for nearly a year. In Washington, temporary workers are required to take a 100 day break after a year in such a position. This is to prevent companies from hiring temporary workers indefinitely in order to save money by not giving them benefits. So, as the year mark rapidly approaches, it is a blessing to know that she will soon have something a little more permanent.

This also means that she will have better benefits. Soon, she will be telling Dad he has a certain amount of time to schedule an appointment with a doctor to get some noticeable health issues checked out, or she will make the appointment herself. I dread what may come of that appointment, but something has to be done about these health issues. Dad has been in denial for years about them, and I am terrified that if they are not address soon, those issues will kill him, just as similar issues killed his father.

I realize that this will likely cause more tension between my parents, but something needs to be done. These health issues are noticeable to everyone in his immediate family, and some are even noticeable outside the immediate family. And he simply brushes them aside. “Oh no, this is just a mild injury” or “It’s getting better”. And that is when he is not flat out denying that they occur. “I was just sitting hear watching TV and all the sudden you got upset with me for no reason.” Mom about smacked him for that comment.

But, the new job will give something for Mom to look forward to. She has been quite discouraged in recent months with the lack of interviews or interest in her resume. I cannot say I blame her, and it has been difficult to get her to see the bright side of things. More opportunities will come. So, I look forward to the next chapter for this family with some optimism and perhaps a touch of dread. Such is life, no?

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

