Bittersweet Week

So, Mom got the official job offer and accepted it earlier this evening. To say she is on cloud nine is an understatement. It is a big relief for her, and the rest of the family. She starts toward the end of the month, right after her contract with Microsoft ends. There was a slight hiccup yesterday, which nearly caused a panic attack and some frustration. The background check the credit union conducted included a credit check. A blurp on the credit check showed a small amount owed to Bank of America. Mom knew nothing of it, though we assumed it might have something to do with my brother’s past misbehavior involving a bank account that used to be in his name. After spending the night worrying about it, Mom called the bank and asked what was going on with that. They could not find the blurp she was referring to. She called the credit union and found out they had input the wrong social security number when calling for the credit check. They apologized profusely and ordered another check, which came up clean. Needless to say, we were all relieved when the job offer was extended later in the day.

Mom and I will be attending a baby shower for a friend tomorrow afternoon. We went shopping for onesies and receiving blankets earlier. Mom mentioned that a mother can never have too many of either. I hope the expecting mother likes the ones we picked out for her little one. I also got a little stuffed lion toy for him. Mom got a small stuffed puppy toy.

My grandparents safely arrived at my aunt’s and uncle’s house in Oregon earlier this afternoon. They had arrived when Mom called to give the good news of her new job. I am wondering how many times my grandmother will fret about the kitties while they are down there. She called my parents’ house three times yesterday to ask whether I would be staying down there (yes), whether I knew where they kept the cat food (yes), and whether I had a key (yes). All things I told Grandpa last weekend. Mom intercepted the calls and dealt with it. I was grateful.

Also yesterday, I apparently offended someone. It is a long and complicated mess that I do not wish to get into. I did not intend for them to get offended, though it was not a surprise to me when I found out they had been. They discussed this with a third person, who suggested I stay away for the sake of keeping the peace in public. I agreed and apologized. He told me that he knew I had not meant to be offensive, but he also knew that person and I are like oil and water. So, I will do my best to stay away and not say anything to that person if I do happen to end up near them. I am wondering whether or not I should offer and apology to the family member of that person who complained, but I am not sure it will help. Part of the problem is that some people have very selective memories. I did not, and that is where we clashed. I would have preferred that the person approach me and talk to me about it rather than go through a mutual friend, but it is already done. Either way, it will be interesting to see how this plays out.

Finally, I found out late last night that a former colleague from my tour of duty in Oklahoma was killed in the line of duty last night. He had retired from the military and was serving with a civilian sheriff’s department. He and a tribal officer were responding to a third officer’s call for assistance in a shots fired call. He attempted to make a turn and his vehicle was hit by the tribal officer in the driver’s side. He was pronounced dead at the hospital. The tribal officer was flown to another hospital in critical condition and is expected to survive. To say that everyone is astonished by the sudden death of our colleague is an understatement. I am in shock, and I did not know him as well as others did. I cannot imagine what they and his family are going through. He was known to be hard on people, but for a good reason. And when he was not being hard on those who worked for him, he was a great mentor and friend. That is how he will be remembered.

His funeral will be next week. Unfortunately, I have a midterm on that day and will not be able to fly down to Oklahoma. I will be there in spirit, though.

So, this week draws to an end. There have been some good points, some points that caused great anxiety or frustration, and there was one point where I am reminded (again) how fragile life is and how quickly it can end. I am hopeful that things will be better next week.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

