Eating Words

We all have to at some point eat our own words. I have a couple times already this year. In this case, I felt more amusement than bitterness. At the end of Winter Quarter, after experiencing one of the most difficult classes I have ever taken (Philosophy of Human Rights), I told people I would not take another Philosophy class. Two quarters later, I am sitting a Medical Ethics class experiencing headaches as we discuss different issues. Of course, these issues hit close to home. We’ve been talking about views of disability, treatment of disabilities, advance directives, euthanasia, and physician-assisted suicide. The first three are the ones which hit close to home. I have multiple family members suffering from a variety of disabilities and have gone through various gauntlets in hope of finding some relief. My grandfather before his death in ’99 expressed his wishes should he be unable to make them as his death approached, so we have dealt with advance directives. I am now wondering if my grandmother had expressed any to my (other) grandfather before the onset of her dementia. And my head hurts.

The 4th was interesting. My brothers and grandparents came over. We dealt with familiar occurrences. I heard “I tot I taw a puddy tat a cweepin up on me” too many times. I stopped counting. I was obnoxious later and sang it after my grandparents left, much to the annoyance of my parents. I only did it once, though. If you cannot laugh about things, the sadness eats everything away. And it is very sad to see my grandmother this way. I also explained three times why my cat, Cheddar, was not allowed to come outside with us. He decided to sit in the kitchen window and yowl pitifully at us as we ate dinner. Poor kitty. Busy streets and Cheddar’s social nature do not make for a good experience outside. Either he would be hit and killed or someone would walk way with him. We had to explain that our backyard was not enclosed, thus the dogs could not be allowed of their leash. She got anxious while Grandpa was elsewhere and also wanted to know if their cats had been fed prior to them coming over. Oddly, she asked who had come out with them. I am not sure why she asked that. And it is not the first time she has asked this. We did get her to eat a bit, though. Dad did not put out chips or other snacks before dinner, mostly because Grandma has used this to say she has eaten too many snacks before the meal. My brother, Nathan handed her a milkshake at one point and she drank it down, too.

We had a week long break from TKD last week. It will be a difficult week, and we have only been back two days. The masters seem to enjoy watching us suffer after being out of class for several days. Mom tested for her 3rd Degree in Kickboxing. She was to test last month, but she missed her bus due to the driver not posting the route number on the front. She was quite unhappy about it. Our head instructor indicated that he would make later arrangements and tried to keep the conversation short in hopes she would not get too upset. What he did not realize was that she was already upset and had already talked to Dad twice and me once before she called him. I understand and appreciate his thought process there, but he was not the first person she talked to, unfortunately.

I will post more later, but I have a couple things I need to attend to.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

