Election Season

I will be honest.  I hate elections.  Actually, I hate politics in general, but it tends to multiply by about a thousand around election season.  Am I decided? Yes, I know who and what I am voting for.  I noticed something interesting a couple weeks ago, though it is no longer true this close to the election.  A couple weeks ago, I was watching TV and saw a campaign ad about our senate race and realized it was one of the first I had seen.  Most of the ads prior to that had been focused mostly on the Governor race.

I will not discuss people here.  We do have some interesting issues we will be voting on in Washington.

First up, the legalization of marijuana.  What will I vote? No.  Why? Simple, the federal government has not legalized marijuana, thus such a law leaves people open for federal prosecution.  How likely is it that people will actually face that? I have no idea.  I still think the federal government will have to lead the way on this one, though.  Does it need to? At the very least, the penalties for marijuana should be lightened a bit, in my opinion.

Second up, the legalization of gay marriage.  Our governor actually passed a law legalizing this earlier in the year, but opponents managed to gather enough signatures to put it on the ballot.  And yes, I am voting in favor of it.  Why? Because I believe that all people should be able to choose who they marry.  Who am I to tell a person they cannot love another? Who am I to judge their actions? People rant and rave about what the Bible says.  I know what the Old Testament says, but I have not seen anything in the New Testament.  Love thy neighbor.  That is the greatest commandment.  When did we get so far away from that?

Those are the big two.  I will be glad when this election is over.

Classes are going well.  I got accepted into my Major of choice and filled out the paperwork declaring said Major today.  I will go back in Friday to determine what is left, since I am within a couple quarters of earning my degree.  It takes a load off my shoulders to know I have one less thing to worry about.

My brother started a new job as a security officer at a retirement facility.  Thus far, he seems quite pleased with it.  He is certainly enjoying the pay.

My dad’s mother is getting increasingly frustrated with some members of the family.  To explain, the tank on her toilet cracked late one night early last month and flooded the bathroom and the hallway outside before going through the floor and flooding the basement.  We got a call about 11:40 pm one Sunday evening because she was having difficulty turning the water off.  Dad and I went down to help mop up the mess and met up with a cousin and his  wife.  We estimate the toilet and been flushing for a good half an hour before the water was turned off.  So now, it has revived a concern that my grandmother should not be living in that house.  In the past, I have shared this concern, but that was when she was not taking care of herself.  She is taking care of herself now, so I have decided to leave her be, as has my parents.  Oddly, this has brought my mother and her back together somewhat.  My mother had little to do with her before due to constant manipulation attempts on my grandmother’s part.  Of course, siding with my grandmother has put my dad at odds with his younger siblings.  It is a bit annoying, I admit.  But such is life.

Other things are going on, but I am not sure I want to discuss those right now.  Some have been mentioned before and have continued to progress.  Others are new, but I am still wrapping my head around the whole thing.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

