Circular

I learned something this past week, on Thursday.  It is no longer a good idea for me to wear any t-shirt with writing on it.  To do otherwise might confuse my grandmother and lead to several minutes of circular conversation.  I am still not sure what finally got her to drop the subject.  I wore a UW t-shirt commemorating last year’s trip to the Alamo Bowl, which was held in San Antonio, Texas.  My grandmother could not figure out why it said San Antonio and not Seattle.  It was frustrating, especially since my mother and grandfather wanted to show me something at the same time.

Overall, Thanksgiving was a good day.  I was house-sitting for friends again.  I have been a bit of that lately, since this family has a high school student who made the state championships in diving, so they have been traveling to the different meets.  For Thanksgiving, they met up with family in Las Vegas, and I enjoyed some quiet time with their pets.  My only regret when I house-sit is that I cannot take my own kitties with me, and they miss me terribly when I am not at home.

We had the traditional turkey, of course.  We also had green bean casserole, salad, dinner rolls, and a choice of beer or sparkling apple cider.  I do not care for the taste of beer, so I chose the latter.  My grandmother asked multiple times where her purse was, though she did not start moving it until it grew close to the time they would leave.  She also asked about their own kitties, William and Anastasia, and whether or not they had been fed that day.  She has a habit of singing “I tot I taw a puddy tat…” every time she sees one of our cats wander through a room.  Since our cats are quite friendly, we heard that phrase no less than 15 times.  But we expected all that.  The t-shirt incident was new, though.

After dinner and dessert, my grandparents left and my brother went to his car and returned with Cards Against Humanity.  Hilarity ensued.  My other brother impressed everyone with getting easily the most hilarious answer of the evening.  Overall, it was a good night.

This picture below is one of the three larger projects I am working on.  The story behind this project is a little sad.  Years ago, I told a friend that I would stitch a wolf project for him after he playfully threatened to steal one I had just finished and had no interest in giving away.  However, he and I had a falling out sometime later and then I lost touch with him.  I have tried a couple times to get back in touch, but it has not lasted for long.  Thus, this poor project has remained off to the side, but not completely forgotten.  I started working on it again recently in hopes that a little bit of progress per week would eventually lead to it being finished.  About a week and a half ago, my brother spotted an update and asked if there were any plans with it.  After hearing of its history, he asked if he could have it upon its completion.  I have agreed.  It will give me the needed incentive to finally get it finished.  I now look forward to working on it, even if it is a little bit per day.

Image

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

