Christmas

It was a year for family jokes.

First, my dad likes frogs.  And he can get quite silly about this like for frogs, especially if I’m imitating one of the cats.  Last year, I started a new trend of silliness by including a stuffed leopard spotted frog toy in his Christmas present.  Anyway, Mom and I teased him earlier this year, saying we would find the silliest looking frog cross-stitch kits and stitch them.  As the holiday season began, we decided to follow through with it.  So, we ordered the kits and have been secretly stitching them for the past few weeks.  We have come close at least once to being caught.  Mom and I were stitching late one evening when Dad suddenly came upstairs to use the bathroom.  One has never seen fabric and thread go flying so fast.  I finished my project on the 22nd.  Mom finished hers the early the next morning.  Christmas Eve, while Dad was at work or visiting his mother, Mom took the finished projects and made them in to pillows, as shown below.  My project is the one on the left.  We had the pillows finished, boxed up, and wrapped with barely ten minutes to spare before Dad came home for the evening.  We were grinning ear-to-ear for the rest of the evening.  It was a big hit with Dad on Christmas.

Image

Just about every since I was young, I have asked for a brain for my younger brother.  Why? Because he got in so much trouble that it was hard to believe that his was actually functioning.  Several years ago, Mom got me good.  She found a couple windup brains down at the Market in Seattle and put one each in my and my youngest brother’s stockings.  We were quite amused.  This year, as a joke, I asked for a brain for both my brother and our male dog.  I have no idea where she found them, probably online, but I ended up with two stress balls in the shape of brains in my stocking.  Both brothers also got one in their stockings.  There were laughs all around.  It was a good morning.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

