Heel and Car Troubles

There are mornings where I am quite scatterbrained.  For example, this morning, I could not seem to find my stuff and had to repeatedly go back and find various articles of clothing or sparring gear.  Somehow, despite remembering specifically putting it in my sparring bag, I forgot my uniform top and had to explain that to the instructor.  Thankfully, she was highly amused and allowed me to take class in just my school t-shirt and uniform pants.  It was not quite as awkward once we got all of our sparring gear on.

I took a heel to the small of my back during my second match.  It does not feel very good at the moment, but I managed to finish the class.  It helped that the guy who did it was horrified that I went down and apologized profusely.  I have seen others react rather indifferently after they have hurt their sparring partner, and that behavior does not sit well with me.  The rest of my sparring matches went decently.

I wandered home long enough to change into some clothes that were not drenched in sweat and get some caffeine.  Then, I meandered over to the auto shop to get my car looked at.  It was as busy as I expected it to be on a Saturday afternoon.  I am not sure if it is a good thing that they recognize either me or my last name when I walk in.  It definitely means that we have had some frequent visits over the past few months, especially with my brother’s car, though we had some issues with a tail-light on Mom’s car last month.  They managed to get my car in for a diagnostic test.  I had hoped for a quick and relatively cheap fix.  Well, it should not take long to get everything fixed, but it will not be as cheap.  A PVC hose assembly had to be replaced and there is an oil valve that is leaking oil onto spark plugs and wires that will be addressed first thing Monday.  All said, it will cost somewhere around $500.

While I waited for the diagnostics to be completed, I wandered over to the nearby department store and looked around.  And got soaked doing so, because a rain shower moved through the area while I was outside.  That is what a good sweatshirt is for, though.

I am glad that the issues with my car did not lead to any breakdowns, especially while picking up friends or family or driving down the interstate.  Those are my worst case scenarios for breaking down.  I have had both happen before, and have no desire for it to happen again.  So, the car is getting fixed as soon as I can get it in.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

