Waiting

This has never been one of my strong suits.  I am waiting to hear back from the security company I interviewed with on Tuesday.  I have a good feeling after that interview, but it does take time for them to check everything out.  That is always the most nerve-wracking part, in my opinion.  What all are they doing? Are they calling my former supervisors and my references? If so, what are they being told? So many questions and thoughts roam through my head as I frequently check my phone in hopes that I have that one voice mail that tells me to come in for the next round of scrutiny.

In the meantime, I sent an e-mail to the HR person who called me Monday afternoon, thanking her for the opportunity to go and take part in the interview process, and that I enjoyed meeting all the people who took part in that process, plus the very brief glimpse I got of the area I may be patrolling in the near future.  I kept it short and sweet.  I do hope to hear back from them tomorrow, one way or another, because I have done the waiting period over a weekend before, and it is not a fun experience for me.

In the meantime, I had a paper due in one class and got back a paper in another.  I was pleasantly surprised to see that my grade on that second paper was significantly better than the first paper in that class.  That means I have managed to somewhat wrap my head around the anthropology side of that class.  Either that, or there was enough of a law and justice component in that assignment to make that paper to write.  Still, I will take it.

My cold is still lingering, though I am still very thankful it did not rear its ugly head during the interview process on Thursday.  I would prefer that it go away completely, but I am happy to be feeling better.

This quarter is winding down, as is this chapter in my life.  I will finish all the required coursework for my Bachelor’s degree two weeks from now.  By then, I hope to have a job lined up so I can get rid of the mounting anxiety.  Either way, I will tackle whatever comes my way over the next two weeks, be it two papers, a final exam, the next round of scrutiny at a potential job site, or the next round of applications.  It is going to be a fun couple of weeks.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

