Daily Prompt: Playlist of the Week

Tell us how your week went by putting together a playlist of  five songs that represent it.

I do not really make playlists week by week, so this may seem a bit cheesy.  Here goes:

1) Hold on My Heart – Genesis:  I interviewed for a job on Tuesday and I really hope I get it.  Right now, though, it is a waiting game.  I am waiting as patiently as I can, but it is not easy as my final quarter at the University draws closer and closer to its end.  So, there is this waiting is hopeful, but at the same time, I have had hopes dashed rather abruptly in similar situations, so I am trying not to get too excited.

2) One Moment in Time – Whitney Houston:  I put in an application late Sunday night after deciding that I really ought to start looking at opportunities for what I would like to be doing after I earn my Bachelor’s degree.  I got a call barely twelve hours later.  I was surprised and elated.  It is a great confidence booster when you realize someone takes a glance and likes what they have read about you.  Plus, as the quarter winds down, I do feel this sense of the world of opportunity opening back up.  And when that happens, this song always comes to mind.

3) I Refuse – Josh Wilson:  Something I have been working on lately is trying to make sure I notice what is going on around me instead of simply thinking about what I want to or have to do.  This involves helping those who need it.  For the latter half of last year, I made sure a friend was able to get to Tae Kwon Do and Kickboxing class regularly after he suffered two seizures in a month and had his driving privileges suspended for six months.  Also, I am working on slowly building the confidence of another student and am thinking of starting to work with another student in hopes of building her up.  Last week, she earned her 1st Degree black belt, but struggled through the first part because her family was not there to cheer her on, and no one realized right away that she needed someone to step in.  She did fine once we did realize that she needed encouragement, and I am thankful that we did before she went home discouraged without passing the test.  I do not know how well I will be able to work with these students, but it is better for me to try than to stand and watch them fall down.

4) Strangers Like Me – Phil Collins:  I volunteer at a local youth center a few times a week.  It will fulfill the internship requirement for my degree.  While some tasks are fairly straightforward, like handing out food and making sure the youth follow the rules, talking to them is really awkward for me.  I feel like they are part of a foreign culture and I am trying to find common ground with them.  I have some success with a few of the youth, but other seem to avoid  talking to me.  I take this in stride and watch as others step in and interact with them.  As long as the youth are helped in some way, then I do not fret too much, but I would like to be able to do more for them.  Step by step, right?

5) Slow Fade – Casting Crowns:  I occasionally wonder what people think as they see me go about my life.  Do I set a good example for others to follow? This is especially true of the younger students in the adult classes at the dojang, because I spend more time around them and they do learn from the examples of the older students around them.  I try to be careful and give a good example, but it is not always easy.  And these thoughts always seem to come up more after a black belt testing.

As I mentioned, as far as playlists go, I do not make them week by week.  Sometimes, I make them for moods.  Other times, I make them for the different genres the songs belong to.  But this was a fun little exercise.  How do I describe a whole week in just five songs?

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

