Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees

Tell us about a time you did a 180 — changed your views on something, reversed a decision, or acted in a way you ordinarily don’t.

This topic made me laugh a little.  Whenever I think of doing a 180, I think not of changing my mind on something, but of the time I did a 180 spin out on I-70 in Colorado during the beginning of a blizzard in late October 2009.  It is one reason why I keep my distance when traveling behind other cars in inclement weather.  I was apparently traveling too close to a SUV which was pulling a trailer behind it.  It went over a patch of snow on the road and blew it back into my windshield, completely blocking my view of the road.  As I hit the windshield wipers to clear the snow, I also hit the brakes to put more distance between me and the SUV.  Unfortunately, I hit my brakes while driving over a patch of black ice and spun around.  I am grateful for a couple things that night.  One, the closest person behind me was at least a quarter-mile back, so they were not endangered by my spin out.  Two, there was nothing on the side of the interstate where my car would eventually come to rest facing the wrong direction.  No guardrails, signs, ditches, trees, or rocks.  I took several deep breaths, waited for the person behind me to pass, turned my car around, and drove into the next town and stopped there for the night.

As far as changing my mind about something, that actually happens frequently in some areas.  A recent example was when I learned a girl who frequents the adult class at Tae Kwon Do is usually dropped off and picked up.  The parents rarely come in to see what she is doing.  This became very apparent when she recently tested for her black belt.  No one from her family came the first night of the test, and others had to step in to cheer her on and make sure she pulled through.  In fact, the instructors and other senior black belts commented they were not sure what her parents looked like.  Our head instructor even mentioned the following morning that he had argued with her parents for years about whether or not she was capable of reaching black belt.  Apparently, her own family did not believe she was.  It is a sad situation.  Before, I considered her a space cadet who really did not belong.  Now, I am helping her out more and giving more encouragement.  Her family will not, so others will have to.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

