Knuckleheads and Opportunities

Yesterday was a day of ups and downs.  I went to class as normal and then drove home.  I ate lunch and then went down to take a nap.  Just as I was about to drift off, I heard a couple noises.  The first sounded like someone had just dropped the tailgate of their truck.  This is not uncommon to hear, since my neighbors have at least one pickup truck.  However, the second noise was that of a car speeding away.  Last time I heard that noise from in front of the house was after someone threw a bottle into the back window of my car and obliterated it.  I went outside to investigate and found the driver side of my car scraped up from the gas cap almost to the door.  No idea what kind of vehicle it was other than it was black in color.  I hoped that the idiot would grow a conscience and come fess up for what they did, but that has yet to happen.  Fortunately, my car is still operational.  I can only guess at how the idiot managed to drift into the side of my car.  Inattention is the best of those options.  Right now, I am still wondering if it worth calling the insurance company.  I do not really intend to look into getting the car fixed until after I find work.  Life has a way of throwing things like this when people least need them to happen, does it not?

Speaking of the job hunt, a friend of mine referred a job opening to me.  I am not sure if I am qualified for the job, but I submitted a cover letter and resume all the same.  If nothing else, I will gain experience from having to write the cover letter (the first I have ever written) and the resume.  In regards to other possibilities, I intend to wander over to a few offices and submitting a job application in person, as is their preference.  This will take place after all the finals and papers are dealt with next week, so Wednesday afternoon at the earliest.  After that, it will be a matter of looking for other openings that interest me and going from there.  Honestly, though, I would not mind a little bit of a break between completion of my degree and starting work.  I have reading I would like to get caught up on and certainly would like to dedicate more time toward finishing a couple needlework projects.  But I will take things as they come.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Knuckleheads and Opportunities

  1. Bummer about the car…good news about a job opening!

Leave a Reply

