Done!… and the Job Hunt

On Wednesday, I turned in my final paper.  I am just waiting for the last grade report and confirmation that I have met all requirements for my degree.  It is just a whirlwind of emotions, to be honest.  I am quite pleased and anxious all at once.  I am done with school, but now trying to find my way back into the work force.  Several applications are out, but I have not received many nibbles thus far.

And I had another job referred my way.  My brother works security at a retirement community in downtown Seattle.  They are looking for a part-time security officer.  While part-time is not my first choice, I will take it if it will pay my bills.  I have sent in a cover letter, or e-mail as the case was, and my resume.  If people are going to refer jobs my way, I will at least follow up and send in my resume.  It might not come to anything, but I gain experience from doing so, plus I do not alienate the person who referred it.  My brother has mentioned me to his co-workers and supervisor on a few occasions.  One commented that he was surprised that two siblings would consider working together.  This prompted us to start joking about having Monty Python quoting wars in the parking garage.  In all seriousness, my brother and I get along quite well, so I do not see any issues with working with him should this opportunity pan out.

Along with driving with the University to turn in that final paper, I got to enjoy the first day of spring.  It was quite windy and sunny, but cold when I left the house.  The wind had blown the lid of our trash can into the neighbor’s driveway, so I had to retrieve it.  I was grateful that it had not been blown into the street, because that poor lid has already been run over at least twice, and I do not think it will survive another.  Considering it was trash pick-up day, I was also grateful the trash can and the recycling bin were not knocked over before I could get them back to their safe places near the house.  It poured down rain on the way home from the University and later hailed and possibly even snowed.  It was an interesting day of weather.

I enjoyed sleeping in without any regrets about schoolwork.  My cats seemed to sense it, too, because they did not bother me until they were certain that I was awake.  I think anyone who owns a cat who spends any time indoors will appreciate how amazing that is.  Still, the job hunt needs to continue.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

