Daily Prompt: Judgment Day

If you were to judge your favorite book by its cover, would you still read it?

Most of the books I have read have drawn me in by their book covers.  Or at least that is how I get interested in different authors.  After I have decided that I like the story an author is writing, I will usually get whatever their next book is, regardless of the book cover.  However, not all the authors I read are series writers, so this is not true for everything I read.

The title of the book and its cover art are important.  If the art is mediocre and I am not familiar with the artist, then I might pass it by.  If the art is intriguing and the title interests me, then I will investigate further.  This means I will pick up the book and read the description on the back or inside the front cover.  If I like what I read there, then I will get the book.  If not, well, it depends on my mood.  If I am looking for something different because my regular authors do not have anything new to read, then I might try it.  Otherwise, I move on and wait.  And there is the odd occasion where  I decide to get a book after I have seen the movie it is based on.  Such is the case of my current favorite book.

Rewind to late summer of 2009.  I went to a movie with a former co-worker.  “The Time Traveler’s Wife.”  I enjoyed the movie and the company.  I learned shortly thereafter that the movie was based on a book and was intrigued.  I worked at Target at the time, so finding the book was not difficult, especially since the movie was in theaters.  The cover art was nothing extraordinary.  It showed a girl’s legs complete with school uniform, white socks, and black dress shoes next to a pile of folded clothes that clearly belonged the an adult male.  I did skim the back, but I had already decided I was going to get the book.  If anyone has seen both book and movie, then they know there are extreme differences between  the two.  The book is much more in-depth and builds on the different characters and their backgrounds.  However, I still enjoy the movie.  Would I have picked up the book had I simply seen it on the shelf? Apparently not, since the book was out for some time before I got around to finding it.

Of course, this book was not in my usual genres, so I doubt I was in the sections were this book was found prior to the movie coming out.  This is why I do not mind that books are made into movies, even if the movies are hit and miss on how well they represent the book.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

