Update on Creepiness

A man died just a couple blocks from the house I am watching for friends while they are out of town.  Actually, I am mostly watching after their pets, but I am sure they appreciate that I am staying at the house and making sure it looks occupied.

I was not sure if they would release any more details about the man’s death.  All I knew from reading the article yesterday was that he died and two had been arrested in connection.  He has been identified and the news said he was died after being shot by an air rifle early Sunday morning.  I must have been tired that evening, since I slept through the significant response.  Had I been awake, I would have been curious as to what all the sirens were for.  Not curious enough to wander outside at that time of night, though.  In regards to how the man was wounded, I am wondering how close the woman who shot him was when she pulled the trigger.

Of course, my experience with pellet guns of any sort is limited.  I was shot by one while stationed in England.  I was not expecting it, so got a good scare.  I do not think it even left a mark, but it stung.  Some kid in a nearby dorm nearly got shot by another shift when he pulled a pellet gun on them when they made contact with him.  I cannot remember why they stopped him, just that he was lucky he was not shot.  Some idiot almost got shot by the civilian cops when I was stationed down in Oklahoma.  They had gotten called out there because someone had seen him running around with a rifle and shooting at things.  After they detained him and got the weapon away from him, they called us and asked if we would deal with him.  We agreed.  We handed him over to his First Sergeant, who was a former cop.  He bluntly told the idiot how lucky he was the cop he encountered was not a rookie.  That is about the extent of my experience with them.

I do not think it is more dangerous for pellet guns or air rifles to be in people’s possession than regular guns, but unfortunately with both, there are idiots who do not think about what they are doing when they handle them.  In this case, someone died and at least two others will face the consequences in criminal court.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

