Too Quiet

Sometimes when I am house-sitting, I feel as though the houses are too quiet.  Usually, this occurs in the middle of the night when the pets are sleeping and I am getting ready to go to bed.  It almost feels as though the house is aware there is a visitor in the house, or that the family who lives there is not present.  This is why I felt a bit apprehensive when wandering through buildings on routine checks during the midnight shifts.  Those buildings were usually very busy during the day and all the sudden everyone has gone home and left the building with echoes of the activity.  Of course, that did not account for everything eerie about some of the buildings, but I believe it was a big part of it.

I have two job interviews next week.  One for a full-time position and the other for a part-time.  I still need to work out information on the latter, since I need an actual building number.  I am excited for these opportunities.  I hope something comes from them.  On the other side of that news, I did receive a message from one place saying that they were not going to pursue my candidacy (their words, not mine).  I was kind of surprised that they sent me a message.  I figured a lack of response from the company would be enough, especially since I was not ever interviewed.  It is weird, though they did invite me to go back and look to see if there were any other positions I was interested in.  I may, but I am focusing on the interviews I have lined up first.

My family is going to see my cousin at her aunt and uncle’s home tomorrow afternoon.  I am looking forward to seeing her.  She lives in Virginia, so I do not get to see her very often.  It will be a good afternoon.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

