Flowers

I have been struggling to find motivation to stitch this month.  I am not sure why.  Even smaller projects are not helping much.  I will keep trying, though.  There is one project I hope to finish this month, if I can get motivated.  Here is one smaller project I did last week, though.  I found the small kit at Michaels, along with several others.  I was not really thrilled at the quality of thread that came with the kit, but managed to finish the project with little difficulty:

Image

I think part of the reason I am struggling is the anxiety I feel about the job hunt.  I will be much happier when I find work and can put my mind at ease about finances.  I had a job interview this morning.  I thought it went pretty well.  I walked in a little before 1000 and filled out the job application and written test.  The job posting I responded to only requested a resume and cover letter (or the responding e-mail), so the actual application still needed to be filled out.  The written test was not a surprise, since most of the applications I have filled out have had some sort of written test attached to determine how well a person would fit in the job.  This one was a bit different, though. 

The first part contained examples of sentences that had one incorrect word underlined, and I had to figure out what the correct word was supposed to be.  Most of these contained the wrong usage or misspelling of a verb, although I saw a few others that while the incorrect word was similar to what a person would actually use, the meanings were so different that I was amazed someone could mistake the two words.

The second part contained columns of words, and I had to circle the correctly spelled word.  The third part was a simple reading comprehension test.  There was also a part that asked me to translate between military time and regular time.  For example, if the paper said 9:00PM, I would have to write 2100, or vice versa.  I have never seen that on a written test before.  The next part was looking at a written report and rewriting it correctly in my own words.  The second of those questions was so badly written that it reminded me of some of the stuff I used to see when I took online classes with the University of Phoenix.  It was hard to imagine that some of those people had made it through high school, judging by their lack of writing skills.  The last part consisted of a photo where I had to describe what happened.  That was probably the most fun.  Oh, somewhere in there were a couple questions about what I would do in certain scenarios.  For example, if someone who was supposed to relieve me failed to show up, what would I do? It was probably the most interesting test I have seen in a while.  I wondered how many people this company screens out with that test.

Once that was finished, I waited for a few minutes before being called in for the actual interview.  It was then that I noted the office was decorated with several Thomas Kinkade paintings.  I commented on how I liked them and the receptionist commented that they must look out of place in a security office.  I agreed.  The interview went well.  I got along with the guy and had a good feeling walking out of there.  He had other interviews to do over the next couple days, so there is the chance that someone more qualified will wander in, but I am thinking good thoughts until I hear otherwise.

I have another interview tomorrow.  This second one is for a part-time position, which is not what I prefer, but it is work, so I cannot complain.  I am hoping to hear good things back from either of these interviews by the end of the week.

I am waiting for the family I have been house-sitting for to return from their trip.  They are flying back right now and should land in another hour or so.  I am considering waiting until they get home, because their dogs are quite anxious.  They seem to know something is different about this evening.  It does not help that their cat was making a bunch of noise earlier.  But I will wait and see.  If they stay settled down, then I may decide to head on home.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

