Hopeful

I did the second interview for the full-time position on Thursday afternoon.  Google maps wanted to send me the long way to the building, even though it is easily seen and accessible from the main street.  I thought that was amusing.  It turns out that this is simply the main building where I would be working, though there are numerous other places I would be working throughout the week.  And, I would be expected to make a quota of sorts.  Not sure how strict they are on that, but they certainly have an expectation that I would have to live up to.  Also, I would largely be on my own after I got through training, with the exception of the store employees that I could enlist to help me.  I am not sure how I feel about that.  It would definitely be a challenge and would have a certain learning curve to it, but I think I would be able to handle it.  It also provides me the experience of working in a different part of my chosen career field that I am not all that familiar with.  However, I am not so sure how well I did during this second interview.  As it became clear what would be expected, I started to feel anxious about the pressure and I think that showed through.  I do not know how many other people are interviewing for the position, either.  Regardless, I walked out of that interview feeling a little less confident in how I did.  Still, I am hopeful.  That is how I move forward.  I should hear back sometime next week, one way or the other.

On the other hand, the other place I interviewed with is proceeding with the background check.  I went to the office and filled out some paperwork to that effect earlier.  The weather was horrid, and traffic mirrored it.  It still amazes me how many people cannot drive in the rain here.  Fortunately, I did not have an appointment time set in stone, so I did not have to worry about wandering into the HR office late.  However, another person who did have an appointment also struggled in getting there due to the awful weather and horrid traffic.  I backed their story up when I commented about the mess as I filled out the paperwork.  The idea that they are moving forward with the background check is encouraging.  This position is one I feel quite comfortable in performing.  The downside? It is part-time with slim prospects of becoming more than that.  That is what the people who interviewed with me on Tuesday admitted.  I am glad they were straight forward with me about that.  Still, if the full-time position I have been interviewing with does not pan out, then this will certainly be a step in the right direction.

Either way, it has been a good week for the job hunt, and I am hopeful.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

