Job Offer

The company I interviewed with twice last week called this morning and offered a full-time position.  I am not sure when I will actually start, since they still have to go through the background check and all that, but I will be wandering in tomorrow to fill out paperwork.  I think I will be there for a few hours, though I am not quite sure what all I will be doing.  I will have to make arrangements to get my UW transcript to them.  I have one coming to my home, so I hope they will take that sealed envelope.

This led me to send messages to the two people I have been communicating in regard to a potential part-time position.  I thanked them repeatedly for the opportunity to come in and talk with them and explained that I would be pursuing another opportunity.  One of them sent a message back along the lines of, “Good luck.  I wish we had a full-time position to offer.”  I do, too, to be honest.  I feel a little bad and hope they have another candidate in mind, because I know they have been calling references and such.  A family friend who I listed as a reference called me yesterday afternoon to tell me that she had just gotten off the phone with them.  I wish them the best in finding a good candidate.

This new job will present a variety of challenges.  I am not really familiar with Loss Prevention, other than the glimpses I got while in the Air Force.  That usually came with us hauling in the shoplifters and then calling their chain of command to come get them.  It will be a learning experience, that is for certain, but I am excited for it.

I do hope I will not have to worry about telling them I cannot work Sunday.  I was told last week my work days would likely be Friday through Monday.  Mom and I have been planning for weeks to see the Tulip Festival in Skagit County this weekend.  We have friends coming along with us, too.  I hope that there is a little flexibility.  We will see.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

