Bad Week in the News

Ugh.  I just want to not watch the news for a couple days after what happened Monday in Boston and yesterday in Texas.  They are now saying at least 35 may be dead in yesterday’s blast.  I watched the cell phone video of that.  It is hard to imagine a blast being powerful enough that people nearly 50 miles away heard it.  It even registered on the Richter scale.  Scary.  We have family in Texas.  A cousin on Mom’s side lives somewhere between Waco and Dallas.  We are hoping he had no reason to be anywhere near the blast site, which was south of Waco.  Mom did not think any other family members lived near the area.

Yesterday, I wandered down to the security company’s office and started the hiring paperwork and underwent the routine drug test.  Fairly straightforward with both.  I have a temporary unarmed security guard license.  I should be getting the official license within 60 days.  If the background check goes through okay, then I will start work at 0900 Monday morning.

I have also started considering how I will work Tae Kwon Do and Kickboxing into my off-days.  I do not really like the idea of cutting back on my time at the dojang, but I have little choice if I want to pursue this job.

I am looking forward to this Sunday.  Mom and I will be meeting with friends and heading up to see the tulips.  My only concerns are in regard to weather and traffic.  Last weekend, the weather was ugly on Saturday.  Not good for people hoping to go tiptoeing through tulip fields.  Earlier this week was promising, as it was bright and sunny, so I am hoping for a return of that by Sunday.  Even if it is overcast, I will not complain so long as it is not raining sideways.  I have told our friends that we should leave early if we want to avoid major traffic on the way up to see the tulips.  We shall see how that works out.  There are also a couple stops Mom and I typically make in addition to going to see the tulip fields.  There is a town nearby that has a needlework store that we wander into while we are up there.  There is also a farmer’s market that cells large ice cream cones, appropriately named “Immodest Ice Cream”.  We shall see how this all plays out.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

