In Memory

I met Danny at the end of April 2004.  I had just arrived in Oklahoma and had met very few people, other than those who I encountered as I in-processed the squadron and base.  I decided to go to church that weekend.  The service on base was geared more toward retirees than younger people, but I still met a couple guys.  Danny was one of them.  They invited me out to brunch.  Once there, we met up with another guy.  He had been at the service, I believe, but I do not recall seeing him.  We laughed as this third guy approached with both pancakes and Swedish meatballs on his tray.  He explained that he had gotten the pancakes before he realized they were serving the meatballs.  This third guy would eventually become my boyfriend, but this is about Danny.  We hung out numerous times over the next couple years, but our odd schedules caused us to eventually drift apart.  I occasionally still encountered him and we would briefly catch up.  He was a friend I would easily drop anything for in order to help.  In fact, my then-boyfriend and I drove a ways down the interstate to his aid after the transmission on his truck died as he drove toward Kentucky for leave.  I have not talked to him since I separated in 2008, but I wished him the very best.

Earlier this evening, I learned that Danny was one of four Airmen killed in a plane crash in Afghanistan.  I was stunned.  I knew a plane had gone down, but never thought he would be on it.  The reports say it was not caused by hostile activity.  Danny left behind a wife.  I have never met her, as far as I know, but my prayers go out to her, as well as to any of his family and friends.

In beloved memory of Daniel Fannin and the other three who died.  I know you are in a better place, and I look forward to seeing you again.  We will have much more to catch up on.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

