Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook

Facebook has recently come under attack for failing to enforce its own guidelines on hate speech and violent imagery. Is it a website’s job to moderate the content users post, or should users have freedom to say what they want?

I  guess I am lucky here.  I have not really seen any hate speech.  Oh, I see the occasional political rants from one side or the other, but those are usually kept fairly civil.  And they are easily ignored.  As for hate speech and violent imagery, I cannot think of any that I have seen.  This probably says something.  Either I have good quality friends and associates, or my definition of hate speech and violent imagery is different from what others consider it to  be.  I honestly believe it is the former.  And I am glad, considering some of the articles that fly through the media from time to time.

As for Facebook, if they have guidelines on what should not be posted on their site, then yes, they should be enforcing those guidelines.  Free speech has a limit where hate and violence are concerned.

But again, if people were posting stuff like that on, they would no longer be considered friends and would be removed from my friend list.  So, if people are offended by what they see someone post, then remove the friend or block the person.  If it truly warrants concern, report it.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

