Searching for the Right Fit

It is a bit of a long story, and not one I am interested in getting into at the moment.  To shorten it a bit, I am no longer doing loss prevention.  At this moment, I am waiting for a better placement within the company, because I did enjoy the people I worked with.  This was not by my choice, though I think it is a decision I would have come to on my own.  Not now, though.  I would have given it a couple more months just to be sure.  But, that hand has played itself, and I move forward.

I have an interview of sorts, though not quite as formal as the first I had with the company, for a full-time graveyard position.  I would indeed prefer to work the graveyard shift, considering it is the schedule I naturally revert to when I am not working.  I hope it works out, because I am not currently working any shifts, which means no money is coming in.  Thus far, the position sounds like it would be a better fit for me.  We shall see.

In other news, I have been enjoying being at Tae Kwon Do more often again, though I slightly tweaked my right ankle Wednesday night.  It does enjoy rolling at inconvenient times.  Fortunately, I did not actually fall this time around.

Today is my birthday.  My family will be celebrating over the weekend.  I am glad that I did not have to worry about scheduling celebrations around my odd work schedule this time around.  At the dojang, the head instructor asked pointedly whether or not I would be sparring later tonight.  I told him ‘yes’ and then asked why he wanted to know.  I am not sure whether he is plotting something, messing with my head, or both.  He is known to be obnoxious.

In family news, I fear that my grandmother no longer knows who I am.  I visited with them earlier in the month.  The main purpose was to move the trash bins to the curb for the next day’s pick up.  My grandfather cannot navigate a heavy bin down to the curb, and I fear greatly what would happen if my grandmother was to do it.  Anyway, my grandparents were not home when I arrived.  They had gone out to do errands.  They returned a little while after I got there.  I followed their car down the driveway and into the garage.  My grandfather, of course, saw me and knew I was there.  My grandmother looked very confused and suspicious when she saw me coming down the driveway.  Her “hello?” had absolutely no recognition in it.  Once I started talking to Grandpa, though, she somewhat realized that I was someone she should know, though she did not offer any hints as to who she may have thought I was.  She did not ask where I had gone to school or where I worked, which is new.  That is normally a cycle that repeats itself every few minutes.  She did go searching for the cats, though she did not go upstairs where one normally hides.  She was far more concerned with whatever their neighbors across the street were doing, or what various pieces of mail on the table were.  It was a bit surreal.  I did enjoy the visit with Grandpa, though.  He had baked blueberry muffins the day before and offered me one as we meandered through the garage and basement, and up into the kitchen.

Mom visited with them over the weekend.  She told of a new habit.  Apparently, Grandma took issue with my mother’s fly-away hair, specifically her bangs and kept trying to fix them.  I told Mom later that I doubt I would have tolerated that behavior as well as she did.  It is like she was viewing Mom as a small child.  Which only reinforces the occasional wish I have of having some type of technology that would allow us to see what her thought process was.  But then again, I fear what we would see.  Mom also told of how Grandma still believes she is much heavier than she actually is.  Grandma is very much underweight, but firmly believes that she is much larger, which results in her refusing to eat, or eating very little, unless she is caught off-guard somehow.  Her health is slowly failing because of this.  If I could travel back in time, I would go back and have a serious chat with her parents and whoever else made her life hell for being “heavy”.  Who knew that all these decades later it would be one of the anxieties she would hold on to the tightest? It is terrifying, but I do not know what we can do.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

