Hot Headed

My brother has a bit of a temper, especially when things have not gone as well as he would like.  This was evident on Wednesday night.  I found a flat tire and called for his assistance.  I always have a problem loosening the lug-nuts that hold the wheel onto the car, and our father was unable to due to his recent hip surgery.  My brother owed me a favor after I picked him up from the auto shop Tuesday morning.  He came over without complaint and parked in front of the neighbor’s house, which he (along with other family member, as well) has done many a time without any problems.  Well, our neighbor has a younger relative staying with her and he arrived home around the same time and got irritated.  My brother, after not having the greatest of weeks, responded in kind.  They started yelling back and forth at each other.  Dad intervened and they backed off for a bit, though the other guy made a point of watching my brother’s progress with my car.  This watchfulness included holding a tire iron or making sure that we could see the hammer on his tool belt.  My brother started in on the guy as soon as he went to leave a little while later.  I, having predicted this would happen, walked over and made it clear I was not interested in a physical confrontation breaking out.  Luckily, neither was particularly interested in one, either.  My brother left.  I have no idea what the other guy told our neighbor when she got home, but she came over to make sure things were okay between us and her.  My brother later admitted he should have handled things better.  I was simply grateful that a physical fight did not break out.  It would have ended well for either of them, I am sure.  One or both would have gotten hurt, and one or both would have gotten in trouble when the police came out.  The guy has not spoken to us since, but that is fine, so long as he does not start another confrontation.  We will take care not to park in that area.

Dad went back to work a week and a half ago.  Things seem to be going well there.  I find it a little amusing.  Mom has a friend who insisted Dad would not be able to drive his truck for several months after his hip replacement, because it has a manual transmission.  Dad proved her wrong just a few weeks after the surgery, which was a relief, since Mom and I are not comfortable with driving the truck.  The home routine has returned almost completely to normal.

Work has been interesting.  I found an unsecured door during one of my foot patrols of the building’s exterior a few nights ago.  The boss was less than thrilled that the previous shift did not find it.  She had to remind them that I should not be finding unsecured doors several hours after the last person in those offices left for the day.  They listened, at least.  The same door was found unsecured during their shift a couple days later.

I got a phone call while monitoring the cameras and alarms.  The guy told me there was some kind of incident at the entrance to our parking garage.  My partner went to investigate.  Turns out, someone drove into the garage, and then realized her car would not clear the ceiling of the entrance’s ramp due to a storage container on top of her car.  By the time she realized this, the gate to the entrance had closed behind her.  We had to manually open the gate and let her back out.  I am sure her co-workers gave her some ribbing over that later.  Fortunately, she did not actually hit anything before realizing her vehicle did not have clearance with the ceiling.  It made for an amusing incident report.

 

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

