Frustrations and Hopes

Ever have a co-worker who you work with only every once in a while? I have a few.  They are our reserve officers.  They are called in to help maintain security of the site when one of the regular officers is on vacation, has an appointment, calls in sick, or any other number of things.  Usually, my partners and I on graveyard prefer to try to switch shifts so that we do not have to worry about a reserve officer being called in.  If there is a new reserve officer, then we have to spend time training them to the site and then hope they are willing and able to learn.  There are a couple reserve officers who we see fairly regularly.  I try to get along with both of them.  One is still on my good side.  The other, not so much.

Why? He does not know the site as well as I thought he should, considering how often he works here.  This is made clear with some of the things he does.  For example, he is not familiar with the layout of the building and where the cameras are.  But I can work around that.  I can tell him not to move the camera if I need to watch a certain area.  One of my biggest problems with this guy is that he makes assumptions about how things are done.  Fortunately, these assumptions have been discovered fairly quickly thus far, though the most recent one had me seeing red when I found out about it.  He is fairly social, but nosy.  I do not usually mind these traits, because I do enjoy talking to people during work (it makes time go by easier), but when he starts asking questions about my boss or co-workers that I really do not need to know the answers to, I start to wonder what his agenda is.  Also, he goes out of his way to avoid working.  He likes to find places to hide out for extended periods of time.  And when asked why he is spending time somewhere, he lies about it.  It is getting to the point where I do not really trust him to be at the security desk by himself, or patrolling around, because I do not know if he is actually doing what he is supposed to do.  It is not a good thing when you cannot trust your partner.

Other than my frustrations about the reserve officer, though, work is going well.  We have a new supervisor started soon.  The last one left after she mouthed off to the property management.  I still shake my head over that stunt.  There is a saying:  “Do not bite the hand that feeds you.” Clearly, she had not grasped the meaning.  My boss is excited about the new person.  She has worked with him before and foresees no issues.  I am glad to hear that news, because it means things will feel more normal at work.  Also, there was a couple weeks after the previous supervisor left where there was a gap in our manning.  Some regular officers have worked extra shifts to fill the void, but the reserve officers have also been called in to help.  It will be good to not have that worry.

In family news:

Mom tore her ACL last month during a Tae Kwon Do class.  She has surgery on Tuesday to repair the damage.  She is hopeful that it will go well enough that she will be able to return to Tae Kwon Do and Kickboxing.  She has a mild case of cabin fever after being out of class for the past few weeks.  I am not sure how long it will take for her to recover from the surgery, but I am hopeful that it will be worth it.

My grandmother turned 80 at the end of last month.  It was a quiet milestone.  I am not sure she even knows how old she is anymore.  I asked Mom a few days afterward if Grandpa had done anything to mark the occasion.  Mom did not think so, but mentioned that her parents’ birthdays were not usually big events in the household.  Grandpa will turn 85 next month.  I suspect we might do something then.  We shall see.  I think we should do something, if for no other reason than to give him a break from the repetitiveness that comes with trying to talk to Grandma.  But there is a lot going on between now and then, so we shall see.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

