Switching Things Around

One of my partners at work accepted a job offer elsewhere.  He was beyond excited, too.  It would allow him to have a normal schedule.  He has been trying to maintain a very active social life while working a graveyard shift that includes both weekend days.  It has not been easy for him, to say the least.

He told me a day or so before the job offer came down that he would be upset if no offer was given.  He had gone through several different interviews, both in person and over the phone, and had been asked to submit to a background check and learned from one of his references that calls were being made.  I told him I thought he would be well in his right to be disappointed if they went through all that and did not make an offer.  Fortunately, they made the offer very soon after.

His position at work came open.  Our boss made it clear she preferred to promote from within the current security team, though she admitted there was a full-time slot that needed to be filled.  Another partner and I both put in for the position, as did one of the part-time officers.  I put in for it mainly to show that I was interested.  I knew the other guy would get it if he put in for it.  He has been working there quite a bit longer than I have.  I made it clear that I would have no problem working with him as the shift lead.  The part-time officer indicated he wanted to take the full-time schedule even if he did not get the promotion, so that solved some of the problem.  We still need to find a part-time officer, though.  Until then, we have reserve officers working in that slot.

Things are going to be interesting for the next week.  The new shift leader is getting used to the increase in responsibility.  He and I are both getting used to working with the other officer regularly.  Before, we worked with him for an hour at a time or relieved him.  He took the old shift leader’s schedule, which was a little disappointing for me.  I had hoped to switch to that schedule.  I like my schedule for the most part, but I would really like a schedule where I come in at the same time every evening.  But the other guy asked first and has seniority, so our boss gave him a choice of schedules.  I have to get used to asking someone else if there are any checks he wants me to do during the week.  I do not foresee any major issues with the changes, though.  I get along with both officers well.

In other work news:

Running down the hall while yelling and flailing your arms is ill advised.  We had an employee pull that stunt recently while building maintenance was testing the generators.  Fortunately, he chose to do it before the power was switched over to the generator, right after it was announced in the building what would happen.  All the lights went out for a few seconds.  I was in the middle of writing an incident report (unrelated to the generator maintenance) and looked up and muttered, “That’s nice.” My partner hardly reacted other than to say, “Yeah, it does that.” The guy who had just gone screaming down the hall commented, “At least I played my joke before the lights went out.” Hard to argue with that.  I followed my partner’s lead that night.  I figured if he was not too concerned with anything that happened, then it was expected.  He did make sure to reassure me that things were normal when something happened, which I appreciated.

It was interesting to see how quickly it went from summer to autumn here.  The rain moved back in and the temperatures dropped.  Last month was one of the wettest on record, which is impressive in an area known for its rain.  Last weekend, I thought I might get knocked over by the wind gusts while I patrolled outside.  I tried to take an umbrella out in hopes of staying somewhat dry.  I gave up partway through one of the patrols because the wind kept trying to rip the umbrella to shreds.  If this is just a preview of what to expect for autumn, I shudder to think of what might come during the winter months.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

