Holiday Cheer?

I prefer to start thinking about Christmas once Thanksgiving has come and gone.  However, I do recognize that Thanksgiving is a bit late this year.  This fact did not stop me from being a bit surprised when I walked into the lobby at work and encountered a Christmas tree.  I did not think any holiday decorating would take place until after Thanksgiving.  I was wrong.  I am sure the look on my face as I took it all in was priceless.  I spent the evening grinning at other people’s reactions, too.  Only two people expressed their surprise out loud, though.  I suppose my boss would have been grateful.  She mentioned that there were a good number of people who complained yesterday as the decorations were going up.

Have I started considering what to get family members for Christmas? To an extent.  Mom asked for gift ideas last week and I am slowly compiling a list.  I always have difficulty making a list.  Right now, there are a whopping four items on the list.  My brother has not had this issue, and never does.  His list has already been sent out.  I occasionally wonder if he updates his list throughout the year as he decides he wants something.  Mom has openly admitted to doing Christmas shopping already.  She is not as bad as someone we know who posted not long ago that their Christmas shopping was already done.  I do not think we will be conspiring against Dad with frogs again, though.  Not as a group, anyway.  I wonder if I should look into finding a rather obnoxious frog t-shirt.  Hee…

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

