A Bit Lost

I said goodbye to Cheddar a little over a week ago now.  It still does not seem real.  I keep expecting to see him bounding down the hall or flying through the bathroom door before I can close it.  I constantly catch myself watching out for him or thinking he will get into something if I am not careful.

Cheddar’s condition deteriorated rapidly on Sunday, December 1st.  First, he refused to eat food or drink water, though he had been doing both with great enthusiasm the night before.  Second, though he was moving around okay when he did move, it was very clear that he preferred to rest; he just did not have the energy to move unless he felt he had to.  Third, his gums were almost white, which was the most alarming symptom.  A call to the vet’s office confirmed that he needed to be taken in.  I took one last photo of my dear kitty, which to me does not show how sick he must have felt, and placed him as gently as I could in the carrier.  The latter was not an easy task, since Cheddar put up quite a fight.

Once at the clinic, the vet confirmed what I already suspected.  Cheddar’s red blood cell count had dropped drastically since I brought him home 48 hours before.  He needed another blood transfusion if he was to survive much longer.  Problem was, I knew it would only buy a little bit of time, and who knows how much Cheddar endured during the process.

I tearfully agreed with the vet that it was time to let my kitty go.  I called Mom and she rushed to the clinic and sat beside me as I spent that last little while with Cheddar.  He started to go into respiratory distress and I told Mom to let the vet know it was time.  Cheddar curled up in my lap and was a sweet lap kitty to the end.

I always imagined that I would enjoy Cheddar’s companionship until he was well into his teens.  Now, I am left with memories of one of the most social and sweet cats I have ever known.  And I am comforted that I was able to spend a couple more days with him and was able to make that hard decision to let him go.  He suffers no more and I hope that he is enjoying his rest with the dear kitties that have passed before him.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

