A Look Back, and Then Forward

2013 was an interesting year.  I had a bunch of ups:

1.  I graduated from the University of Washington.  I loved being back in school, but I was definitely glad to be heading back to the work force.

2.  I found a job within a month of graduating.  Considering some people spend months and months looking for work, I was a little worried.

3.  I have some great co-workers, and I get along well with my supervisor and boss.

4.  My support network of family and friends has endured this year well.  We all saw some troubles and dealt with doubt and fear, but the year is done and we can look ahead.

2013 certainly had its downs, though:

1.  I ended up switching work sites, and not by choice.  My new site turned out to be a much better fit, but when it happened, I was terrified that I would not be able to move to a new site right away.

2.  After years of numerous family members and friends telling my father that he needed to have his hip checked out, he did.  That was toward the end of 2012.  In June, Dad underwent hip replacement surgery.  Afterward, I am pleased to report that he is moving better than he has in years.

3.  My car and Dad’s truck were both hit while parked in front of the house.  My car was sideswiped in March, right around the time I graduated.  It drives just fine, but I wish the person who did it had the backbone and decency to take responsibility.  In August, a knucklehead under the influence of drugs hit Dad’s truck after swerving around a mail truck.  He promptly tried to get our neighbor’s grandson to hide some contraband before the police arrived.  Fortunately, the grandson refused and our neighbor called the police.  No one was home for that incident, so I was grateful she looked out for us.

4.  My mother blew out her knee in August and required surgery to repair it.  She is still recovering, and she recently learned that there was more damage than she originally thought.

5.  Last month, I said goodbye to a very dear furry companion, Cheddar.  I fully expected Cheddar to be by my side well into his teens, along with his brother and my Siamese, but cancer slashed those hopes.  I was grateful that the vets were able to make Cheddar a little more comfortable so I could have a couple more days with him.  I am still trying to get used to his absence, but having Colby nearby helps.  I am still amazed at how Colby treated Cheddar during his last days.  When I brought Cheddar home from the vet for those last two days, my Siamese and my parents’ cats growled and hissed at him.  They wanted nothing to do with him.  My Siamese’s behavior was the most disturbing, since she has been with Cheddar since she was a little cotton ball.  Colby, however, hardly left Cheddar’s side.  Usually, Cheddar and Colby were aloof.  They did not spend a lot of time together.  Those last two days were very different, and I realized then how close they actually were.  Since Cheddar’s passing, Colby seems to channel his brother’s habits at times.  It has been both comforting and painful to see.

6.  There was plenty of drama with extended family members and some co-workers, but I think everyone has that issue in life.

I am sure there were more good things, but the four I mentioned up there did enough to keep me from feeling too badly about the stuff that went wrong.  As 2014 dawns, I have hopes for the year.  I hope to continue to grow in the job I have enjoyed for the past several months.  I hope for the health of all those I care about.  I hope to get a few large needlework projects finished so I can start on others in my bottomless stash.  Certainly, there are a couple of fears about this year.  My grandmother continues to deteriorate, and we wonder each time we see her how much longer she will be with us.  Mom’s knee is healing, but I worry she may injure it again if she overdoes things in Tae Kwon Do, which she is hoping to return to in March.  And then there is this sense of unknown.  And that is the part that holds my greatest hopes and fears.  What good will happen? What surprises await? I will only learn as each day presents itself, and I hope for the best.

Happy New Year, everyone! I hope the good this year brings outweighs by many times the bad that we endure.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

