Surprise!

Years ago, I read a book called Surprise Me.  It was described as a 30-day faith experiment.  I really should dig that book out and read it again, because it is one of the most memorable non-fiction books.  The author spent 30 days asking God to surprise him each morning.  We did something similar in the study group I attended at the time, though I cannot remember if we did it for a full 30 days.  The results were interesting.  Why am I thinking about this book again after several years.  I have no idea, but I have found myself keeping track of whatever events have surprised me thus far this year.  A lot of the things so far have been work related.  For example, a fill-in officer I have had issues with was transferred to a permanent position.  I hope things work out at the site and that he will be happy there, because he made it clear anytime he worked at my site that he did not want to be there.

Other things that have surprised me are the odd events that happen at work.  Our Christmas decorations were taken down recently.  The people who put up the exterior decorations somehow missed a strand of lights outside the coffee shop we have on the property.  I do not think I noticed that particular strand of lights until it was the only strand left in the courtyard.  And then we had a truck hit one of our bollards that blocks vehicles from entering the courtyard.  I still have no idea how the driver could not have seen the bollard.

There are a few non-work items.  One will have to wait for an explanation at a later date.  Intrigued? Good.  I will say that it brightened my afternoon considerably over the weekend.  Another thing is that one of the instructors we usually do not see in the adult Tae Kwon Do class stepped in to run a class the other night.  From the sounds of it, he might be making it a more frequent event.  I hope so.

Is it a faith based exercise for me, though? Yes.  I do pray that may day will be good.  If I struggle with something, I pray that it will turn out for the better down the road.  I have already had a couple prayers answered since I have started keeping track of things.  I hope it will continue.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

