Weekly Photo Challenge: Orange

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Orange you glad it’s photo challenge time?.”

Honestly, orange is not a color I am fond of. I do not think I own any orange clothes. So, this is a bit of a challenge. I had to go back in my photos, which I realized are rather lacking over the past couple of years, to come up with some examples.

DSC_0545

There is a rose bush in my front yard that blooms orange, then slowly turns into a vibrant shade of pink. I was delighted by this and took a number of photos of the blooms. This photo is one of my favorites.

DSC_0067

This is an older photo, since I still need to organize a bunch of photos from the past couple of years, but Mom and I go up to the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival every year, and there is always plenty of color to admire. I am not sure when we will go up this year, but it will probably be earlier than in years past. We had a very mild winter in Washington, so everything is blooming prematurely. Of course, I dread to think what may come next winter.

130

This is one of my favorite pictures featuring both my orange kitties, Cheddar and Colby. I lost Cheddar in late 2013 to cancer, but Colby is still an active fuzzball at 10 years old. In fact, I just took a break from writing this post to watch him chase a pink crinkle ball around the room. It had to be put in its place after attacking him. Anyway, I adore orange kitties. I always had an orange kitty growing up, so it made sense to adopt orange kittens when I got the chance to move off base while I was stationed in Oklahoma. Since they always seem to be lap kitties, they are the closest thing to orange clothing I have.

Halloween Pumpkin

And the best example of orange I can think of is “Halloween Pumpkin”. I finished last year. Mom stitched one, too, though on blue Aida cloth. Hers turned out quite pretty, too.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
Quote | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

